Lo-Fi B&W - The Holga Camera

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I have some distinct photos in my hard drive that have been collecting digital dust for a few years now. I feel now it's time for me to reveal the photos here.

Here are the pictures taken below:














These shots were actually taken with a medium format film camera called the Holga. The model I own is the 120N, which I bought for about $30 in 2015. The camera holds 120 film, which comes in both color and B&W. Because of its low-cost construction, the pictures taken often come out looking a little blurry, with some vignetting, light leaks, and other distortions. My photos would kind of look as if they would come from the late 19th century. The camera is amazing in achieving the lo-fi/vintage aesthetics for each image. Each shot taken is unpredictable in terms of how the photo will actually turn out once they get developed.

Unfortunately, I had more than 7 Holga shots. I think I had about 10 more pictures, but when I got to develop them in the dark room, they came out completely underexposed, which made me feel sad and blue! :( This shows that you have to be extra careful with making sure to have set the right exposure setting, which is located on top of the lens. Overall, I would recommend giving this camera a shot if you want to approach a more experimental theme with your photos.

I hope you dig my b&w shots!

Thanks for reading and have a good one Steemians! :)


Sort:  

aaa Holga, really cool... they look like someone shot them in early 50's, then buried them, and then you found them 65 years later

Indeed as well!

followed you!

Congratulations @xpandamind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75