Swapmeet Finds #1728

in #photography7 years ago

Ah! Finally, something I can identify in 1966 Japan. This is the brand new (at the time) Kyoto Tower!

According to Wikipedia:
Kyoto Tower is an observation tower located in Kyoto, Japan. The steel tower is the tallest structure in Kyoto with its observation deck at 100 metres (328 ft) and its spire at 131 metres (430 ft). The 800-ton tower stands atop a 9-story building, which houses a 3-star hotel and several stores. The entire complex stands opposite Kyoto Station.
Kyoto Tower was proposed in the early 1960s, and it was planned to be constructed and completed in time to correspond with the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo. Construction began in 1963 on the former site of Kyoto's central post office and was completed near the end of 1964. Unlike many other towers (such as Tokyo Tower) that are constructed using metal lattice frames, Kyoto Tower's interior structure consists of many steel rings stacked on top of each other.

Sort:  

Kyoto Tower is very beautiful, you are lucky to get there, I hope I will go there later

I've never been there. This is just another found picture. :-(

oww no problem, I hope we can get there later :)

Fantastic tower. I have in my garden Japanese Kyoto cucumber.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50