Stationary traveller

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

At first I was thinking about joke article, to laugh off super popular steemit entries about travel by nice girls, living off the grid (but posting on the grid) escaping to wonderland of innocent happiness. What the hell I was thinking?


It's not my responsibility to judge anyone who can swim on the wave of popularity, maybe I would do the same, who knows. Its always easiest to judge. I decided to leave it alone. If you are upvoting those travelers, then probably you really want to travel (or be(with) a pretty girl? just kidding). Maybe I will upvote them too... some day, who knows.


But... what to do if you really want to experience new place, and you don't have courage/money/time to travel abroad, or don't want to put on hold your regular life, leave wife/girlfriend/dog/cat/friends? There are many options (there are endless possibilities, think about it!) but I want to write about one - stationary travelling - at least it is how I call it, traveling and walking nearby but with attention. This is easiest to achieve in totally new environment but you can do it with a little help of mindfulness in places nearby.


For you it can be 10 km from your home, for others it can be 100 or 2... you can be surprised what you can find not that far away. Use bus or your car and drive somewhere nearby where you never was before.

For me, it was 5 km. Today I left my cat with food and water for 4 hours and walked out.

I will show you where it was.

If you are a photographer - remember to take your camera with you and look around, try to connect with place. You don't need to escape somewhere far away to be far away from your everyday life.

I'm doing it at least twice a week. 

PS: If you are into 80's progressive rock I highly recommend nice album by Camel - "Stationary Traveller".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56