This post is full of spiders! Ok, not really, just spiderwebs.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Quite a few of my posts were inspired by others. This one goes to @papa-pepper, and his post about scorpions and black light lamps.

I prefer spiders myself, especially if they are of the webspinning variety. Because most of the wood dwelling webspinners are awesome!

image641bc.jpg
Apparently tags no longer help put one image as preview one. So this is the first image.

But first, I'll have to tell you how I met those spiders, or rather their webs. You see, me and my friends tend to go to this swamp, or rather a floodplain near Moscow from time to time for a very closed & very private party.
We do more open events and I actually plugged one such event in Moscow, it happened this weekend and ran in parallel to the first Moscow Steemit Meetup, so people that could have visited it went to hang out with other users instead, and I am some 5.500 km too far away.

Anyhow we go to this one clearing on the edge of the floodplain, and do weird stuff. Like playing music to the swamp. I think of all times that I've been there the most people we had was like eight?

imagec2133.jpg
Accessories for the weird stuff.

Actually only the masks are for weird stuff, and the duck tape and the knife is for setting up the tent. But looks ominous, right? Okay, I gues this suffers from "Tell, not Show", but most of this stuff I can't actually show you. But if you saw the videos in this post you can probably imagine what kind of weirdnes we are talking about. I promise, that when I have something to show you, I will!

So, we set up a tent, gather some deadwood to start a fire, bring out a diesel engine for electricity, and do music.
This one time, I went to look for branches and stuff in the dusk, and encountered this huge wood spider in thr center of a really beautiful web. But unfortunately no source of light other than the iPad that those pictures are taken with, and they are notoriously bad at night time photos. So I decided to go visit this net during the dawn. But unfortunately, the spider already left to catch some zzzs. And the empty net isn't as impresive. Other than the fact that it uses it as an extension of its perceptive system, with each limb sitting connected with one of directions. It is a lot like being in a cockpit of a vehicle, except for the fact that the web is not going anywhere.

image06634.jpg
The web is cool, but without the spider its not that impressive.

Well, there was a good thing, that on the edge of the plain there were a lot more webs and spiders. And with the morning dew they look spectacular!

imagebb31e.jpg
This looks like a comfortsble house.

imagebd432.jpg
During the conversation we came with an image of a stag sunk in that field...

image641bc.jpg
...with spider webs in its antlers!

And since I've promised you actual spiders, here is one:

imaged7899.jpg
An actual spider. Most likely of the same species, that build that home above.

There are some more photos from that trip, but they don't feature spiders, webs or anything related, so I don't feel they have a place in this post. There are even a couple of videos, but they are set to private. Maybe some day, I can get the people of Prorora Crew join steemit, and then you'll may be able to check them out for yourself, but this day is not today.

Well, till the next time! And I should get to sleep, somehow I've been up till 5 am. Oops!

Sort:  

So trippy with those pine needles.

It was much trippier with the dim light from the screen, and the spider on it. And the web kind of shimmered reflecting the light. Or maybe it was my perception, that did. :-D

NIIIIIIIIIIIICE.
I like that first photo so much. Glad you captured the shot!
And....... thanks for the shout-out!

It is actually second to last, but with no way to choose preview photos anymore had to put that one first. Used to be that you could use h1 tags to make steemit show that one photo. Probably the best photo I've ever taken thus far.

I like your post. Some cool spider web pics, especially the first one, and the mask/tape/knife grabbed my attention for sure.

I like how you tell the story with the pictures. One thing I noticed was that there were a lot of pictures compared to the text, especially towards the end. If there aren't photos that could be removed, some other ways to help this could be expanding a little more on the story, or even cropping or reducing the size of the picture.

Feel free to direct message me in steem.chat or steemspeak.com if I can help with anything. :)

Cool, thanks! Apparently changing the tags a bit also helped. I think one of the problems is somewhat low visibility. The first one is actually the second to last. But I think you could make a picture be a preview before by enclosing it in h1 tags, but its not possible anymore.

You'll find what works for you on the tags, usually the first two or three are the more broad reaching ones. Visibility is definitely an issue on here, especially since feeds, and now promoted posts are here. You'll get there though :)

Ah, I getcha. Yea, I vaguely remember that h1/thumbnail pic option being aorund. I kinda get why it's just the first pic now, but it would be nice to choose.

I have some other ideas you can try if you would like. I don't want to over do it. I know you said steem.chat is tough with a slow connection, so I'll keep an eye out for you both in the chatroom/dm and in my replies. Just in case :)

Okay, thanks for the advice! I've contacted you on the steemit.chat!
And it is probably the visibility thing. Shouldn't be adventurous with tags, untill the following is solid enough. As soon as I changed a couple of more esoteric ones to payitforward & minnowsunite the number of upvotes just almost instantly doubled. Even if the payout is almost the same, it is still nice. :-D A lot of times if the post doesn't take off in the 1st hour window it won't take off at all. Oh well, live and learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48