Crappy Camera Sepia Saturday Photos

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Today is #sepiasaturday, originated by @old-guy-photos. Thanks old-guy! This is fun.

For today's project I broke out my newest-and-so-far-most-fun crappy camera, the Sony Mavica MVC-FD75. I am growing to really like this camera, and I'll need to build a post for just it soon.

One of the "features" of this camera, like many cameras of the time had, was built-in effects such as black and white, inverse, and.. get ready for it... sepia! Yes, sepia format, right out of the camera. It had to be used today. All of these pictures are auto-sepia'd right from the camera. The only editing after the fact done was some de-noising with Movavi Photo Denoise.

For those unfamiliar, I am running my own personal project for #crappycameraphotos. This Sony camera is old, has a 0.4 megapixel sensor, and a maximum image resolution of 640x480. It saves it's images to a floppy disk! My goal is to use this camera to take good pictures; good photos with crappy cameras.

Today's photo's come from Greenbank Mill.

The big loom. This is a pretty impressive machine. They walked us through how wool is spun, woven, loomed, and ultimately turned into fabric. Pretty neat stuff!

MVC009S.JPG

A couple of big wheels that used to be part of powering the mill itself (hence the name Greenbank Mill). The mill used to grind wheat, but is now no longer in operation. They still raise sheep and weave though.

MVC011S.JPG

The old farmhouse, as seen from the mill building.

MVC014S.JPG

The old barn, as seen from the mill. The sheep weren't out today, but they do get out to graze in the pasture every now and then.

MVC015S.JPG

I've written about Greenbank Mill before and probably will again. It's in a neat area of the city and right across the street from another "living museum," the Wilmington and Western Rail Road.

MVC018S.JPG

MVC017S.JPG

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Camera can be crappy-good in hands of good photographer :D

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Congratulations @axeman, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @wwwiebe!
@wwwiebe got 6 TRDO & @axeman got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Absolutely, and thank you! :)

Great photos indeed my friend. That old camera is very good indeed.
I have decided to to get rid of my whole collection of old cameras, as we have no space here to display them and they are useless sitting in a box that takes up space.
A great post here,
Blessings!

It has definitely been one of my more fun recent purchases! Having too much fun with it. :)

Hahaha, I can see that my friend. Enjoy!
Blessings!

Keep up the good work! 🏂
DFacademy Team 🎯

Those honestly came out perfect!! I like to see how close I can come to making a sepia look old by adding effects like grain or vignetting in post. This made some timeless shots! Well done!

Thank you very much! It certainly helps that all the pictures from this camera come out grainy right from the get-go! lol!

WW, Lovely photos from the old camera. Interesting place you visited.

The Loom one is really well done, no matter cam was crappy. Looming over us...

Thank you! The more I use this camera the more I'm learning it's strong points.

Good photos can be taken with talent, not totally depends on the equipment.

Yes, absolutely! That's the entire purpose behind the experiment. :)

You have some eye for beauty. Question: you also have a floppy disc drive?!

Yes, yes I do! It has a USB cable and makes all the great "chug-chug-chop-whirrr" noises that we all at one point loved. And it's so slow! I love it.

lol. I remember those sounds. I had a young man helping me around the house yesterday and he had never seen a record player before!

That place is IN the city? Looks like a very interesting place to visit! I thought the pictures were darn good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46