Seagull's. A sense of freedom. Part 1

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I love Seagulls.
As a child we went on vacation to one of the islands in the north of the Netherlands.
We went with a ferry and it was always freeing.

Oh, how I love the sea, the wind, the smell. And the echo's of seagull's in the harbor.

Well a few decades later they still represent a sense of freedom for me, and they are on many pictures, I take when I'm on holiday.

The contrast, nature and industry. I love how they soar through the sky.
IMG_1638.JPG

In the harbor there were always plenty Seagulls, and they were very bold, always on the lookout for food of course. They where flying alongside the ferry where people (and we) threw food in the air, and they were fast to catch it.

Still flying with the boats.

IMG_1630.JPG

A young seagull on the walkway out of the boat. "In" it's "nest." IMG_1666.JPG
I must say I nearly missed it. I noticed it because of the mess.
IMG_1669.JPG
Mother keeping a watchful eye.
IMG_1670.JPG
And the other eye.

IMG_1671.JPG

These photo's are taken in Scotland, near the most northern point John 'O Groats, to the east there is the Duncansby Head Lighthouse, and there you walk south. There are cliffs with enormous amounts of birds, (I'll show you the puffins later:)
It is truly beautiful there.

Let me show you the seagulls.
IMG_1996.JPG
Oeps. Those are sheep with blue butts.

Here they are. This looks a bit like the Shire for seagulls.
I wonder if there are Hobbitses living nearby.
IMG_1998.JPG
They got beautiful flowers in their yard, don't you think?
IMG_2011.JPG

Look how sweet.
IMG_2007.JPG

And here the last photo of part one, a true cliffhanger.
IMG_2053.JPG
Next time we see the little fellow on the walkway again.
Thank you for watching.

All photo's by @wordsword.
Canon PowerShot SX240 HS

Sort:  

These pictures are fantastic, I always like seeing pictures of nature, whether it be of the animals or the flora. These pictures you took have opened my eyes to how seagulls live and make their nests. As common as seagulls are, in my area of Canada at least, I never really thought about how these birds lived.

Seeing their little alcoves where they can rest and that nest for their young - it's all very fascinating. I never knew that seagulls had that red spot on their bills either. I wonder if that's how you can tell they're female or not. I'm not exactly sure.

Thank you for providing these pictures though, I really like them. Keep up with the photography and your work.

Once I knew, decades ago, what the red spot was all about. But I couldn't remember so I googled ;)
click here to find out.

Thank you for your interest and your kind reply.

;) you have given me a new appreciation of seagulls my friend and also a deeper appreciation of my homeland. I live in Scotland but unfortunately not in such a beautiful part as your excellent photography depicts. I live in the city where the seagulls are ......a little more streetwise. :)

Thanks for sharing @wordsword. Excellent post. I look forward to the puffins.:)

I hope maybe you can take a trip someday and get out there in nature. We did a sort of road trip sleeping in the car, a stationwagen with a matres in the back, and some curtains I made for privacy. It doesn't take much to have fun.

Thank you for your reply. :)

I try to get out into nature as much as I can and know that I live in one of the most beautiful parts of the world but sometimes being too involved can lead to taking things for granted and sometimes it takes an outsider to remind us of this. :)

Thank you and you are welcome!

Congratulations @wordsword! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68503.89
ETH 2535.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52