Off to the "Miniatur Wunderland" Hamburg - again

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

For the 3rd time now, I've been to the "Miniatur Wunderland" (miniature wonder land) in Hamburg, Germany and for those who never heard about the worlds largest model railway, let me show you some wonderfull things...

DSC_0188.JPG

Hard Facts

  • H0 scale (1:87)
  • 1.490 m² Layout Size
  • 15.400 m track length (~50520 feet)
  • 35.000.000 € building cost (so far)
  • 760.000 hours construction time (so far)
  • 260.000 figures
  • 1.040 trains
  • 9.250 cars
  • 385.000 LEDs
  • 130.000 trees
  • 4.110 buildings

The following countries / regions have already been recreated in their own segments:
Germany, Austria, Switzerland, USA, Scandinavia, Italy with an own Venice part, Monaco.
South america, Asia and the Carribean are currently in planning.

But enough text, here are some of my favourite pictures (small selection of over 200 pictures):

DSC_0185.JPG

DSC_0195.JPG
Simulated day-night cycle every 15 minutes

DSC_0212.JPG

DSC_0224.JPG

DSC_0227.JPG

DSC_0239.JPG

DSC_0262.JPG

DSC_0006.JPG

DSC_0048 (2).JPG

DSC_0060 (2).JPG

For more information, visit their very informative website: https://www.miniatur-wunderland.de
If you ever have the chance to get there... DO IT!

But wait! There is more!

Even if my own model railway is not nearly as impressive as this one (for more info visit my previous posts) I am still moving foreward and purchased some more stuff. Among other things the long desired (and required)
St. Andrew's Cross with blinking LEDs.
More about this soon :)

47ea4106-5925-4f31-899e-24f8a9c17c5d.jpg

Sort:  

Incredible. It's the first time I have ever heard about this. I'll add this to my travel plan, if I ever go to Hamburg.

Thanks for the amazing photos!

You're welcome :)

Congratulations @wirago! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi wirago,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This mind blowing. I'm speechless. Great art piece and photography @wirago.

Resteemed

Thank you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

It was just the same, very realistic, great and super detailed. Really many congratulations for your great effort, people like you can give Steemit a better image :)

Hello @
The numbers are impressive.
It is a colossal but beautiful work.
It's great that you can take pictures.
All are beautiful and instructive.
I loved the simulated day-night cycle every 15 minutes
Thank you for a great contribution to knowledge.
Congratulations! @ curie brought a flow of votes.
Thank you very much Curie for a good selection.

Yeah, the size and effort is hard to grasp. You can already spend a whole day there and still find new scenes and details. And Thank you for the resteem :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope to see your own design.
Do not hesitate to mention me when you publish it.
I will come sooner rather than later.
I love that you are acquiring your pieces ..
Stay great!

I already have many posts about my own layout published here :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Bravissimo, I'll be checking your blog.
Happy life.

This is a really impressive undertaking. I can't wait to see other regions of the world represented here.
30+ million euros! that sounds crazy. How much do they charge for seeing this minuature world?

Regular price 15€. Children (15 years or younger) 7.5€. There are also some guided tours like "Behind the scenes" that are 15€ extra. Not really expensive for european standards.

Posted using Partiko Android

I see. Thanks. Lots of people attending?
Those behind the scenes must be pretty cool

About 1.5 million visitors last year. Yeah, the behind the scenes tour is very interesting but quite technical. Not gonna lie, I got a lot of inspiration from there for my own layout :D
Learning from the best so to say.

Posted using Partiko Android

So bad that when I was last time in Hamburg, I didn't know about this spot. I had an opportunity to visit a town hall, new opera and obviously infamous St. Pauli district, also known as Little Amsterdam but later I didn't know what to do with the rest of the free time and which gems I must see. Now I know what need to be visited. I am impressed with all those details, it looks simply amazing. Great photos and describition !

I've been to the one in Switzerland and it is very different. It doesn't focus on the railway but on different regions. There are of course many trains going around as well as other kind of transportation but I believe that the focus is on the buildings and the traditions. It's pretty cool.

I love the one in Hamburg too! It looks large! And your photos are great.

Your own model doesn't need to be as impressive as that one.. it's important that you built it with lots of love :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74