W.W.'s Astrophotography :: THE TRANSIT OF VENUS :: 6/5/2012

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I couldn't wait for this. This only comes twice in 120 years, and the 2 times that it happens are only 8 years apart. I missed it in 2004 (didn't know about it)...but in 2012 I was ready.

This is a repost from nearly a year ago, but after all this time and with such a wide audience now, I felt it deserved another go.

We went to downtown Springfield, MO and went to the top of a multi-level parking garage and just fired away. I might be a bit too excited about a little black dot on the sun, but I don't think I did too bad for a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, if I do say so myself. ;-)



I also managed to grab a quick video. :)



Sort:  

No, that's a dust spot on your sensor... :p

More seriously, fantastic shots, man! I find the whole business of seeing other bodies in the solar system to be fascinating. I remember the first time I saw Jupiter's moons through my camera lens. Blew me away. I didn't actually realise at the time that you could see them from Earth that easy. This was about 30 years ago. And just the other month while Jupiter was really close again I showed my son and daughter the moons of Jupiter through my son's telescope. They were equally blown away. :)

That photo with a bird flying by looks amazing!

Simply amazing shots. I've never seen anything like it. If you see this, it probably intercepts the look.

That first photograph where you captured the bird flying by. Absolutely brilliant!

Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70