I'm proud of these old photos, but would love to try taking them again.

in #photography7 years ago

I have some images that are many years old which I was extremely proud of once I was finished processing them. But they're old photos, and my skill level wasn't as high then as it is now, same with my gear. And while I was exceptionally proud of these images back then, that pride has thinned out over time as my skill level increase and as I upgraded my gear.

Garden Of The Gods, Colorado Springs, Colorado

For example, many of them are as much as 12-15 years old, and I didn't fully understand the benefits of shooting in RAW format, rather than JPG, nor was my editing skill level up to par. Had I known then what I know now, these images would've turned out much different.

View from County Road 14, near Fairplay, Colorado

Secondly, the lenses I used back then were very sub-par. The sharpness of the glass I use today is superior. Another thing is that many of them were taken with a 1st gen Canon Digital Rebel, and the RAW capabilities of that camera were extremely limited because they hadn't really gotten the tech for RAW as workable as they have today.

Of course, this was back when RAW images had a .CRW file extension, not the .CR2 they use now. The noise in these images were horrid, and so a lot of noise correction was necessary for many of them, which gave them a "shiny plastic" feel to them that make me cringe today.

Nathanael Greene Park, Springfield, Missouri - This view no longer exists

So not only was my skill level not what it is today, but the tech wasn't really there yet either. These two factors make me wish I could retake these images, some of which would be difficult due to their locations.

Steemit definitely lights a fire under me to take new photos, and to strive towards retaking images like this with the aim to have a result that far exceeds the quality level of these entry-level images. Now it's just a matter of carving out the time, and in some cases planning a 15-hr road trip.

Sort:  

@winstonwolfe the Nathanael Greene Park picture is amazing for any skill level - atleast to the untrained eye..

Wow, @winstonwolfe I would proud of these old photos as you call it if I was you! They are absolutely beautiful even if they are old as you say. I especially love the first one in black & white it's my favourite of the entire post altho they are all great pictures. Nice post and thanks for sharing this with us! :)

It's always cool when someone can capture something on camera before it ends up changing years later. These are some nice looking locations too.

These are great shots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24