Photos from the City's Shoulder Season

in #photography6 years ago

In a tourist area, "Shoulder Season" refers to those times at the beginning and the end of the peak period for business attractions.

The traffic's a little lighter. Maybe the kids are still in school, and it's only childless families and retirees who can visit. Or maybe the weather's not right for the main attraction. Like a ski resort that doesn't have enough snow yet, but people still come to hike and enjoy the lodge.

We live in a beach resort area. Every year the shoulder season gets a bit longer. It's great for us because we get to make a little extra money on the rental cottages without dealing with the punishing summer traffic.

A couple dozen miles away in the city, though, shoulder season means something else.

I don't enjoy it any less.

Shoulders.jpg

CityHallVoyeur.jpg

BlondeBlurryBlackDress.jpg

RussianBeauty4.jpg

BlondeBrightBlurry.jpg

DarkHairLaughter.jpg

IMG_20180525_090913.jpg

FirePicture2.jpg

PhotographerAsian.jpg

PinkShortsWP1.jpg

ShoulderCornDog.jpg

StationShirtless.jpg

Shoulders&Feet.jpg

ShouldersBlack.jpg

ShoulderTrolley.jpg

I do worry a bit about skin cancer, though.

If only because my mother was always an avid sunbather, and in her dotage she has to report quarterly to the dermatologist to have growths burned or lazered off. Do these women put sun-screen on for a day in the city, as they would for a day at the beach? It's not like the sun is any weaker downtown.

Then again, I should probably file the skin care of strangers in that vast category of not my problem.

What do you think of bare shoulders in daily fashion?

Sort:  

Got a chuckle out of the skin care of strangers remark. I guess I have the opinion that it is their business, to do what they want. Though as you say, one day it may come back to haunt. I spent years working outdoors, and though it was in the forest, still got pretty baked now and then. And will probably pay for it one day. We used to go to Florida too, and get as dark as possible. Not anymore. Though as the construction guy demonstrates, it makes people watching more interesting. A true art form, all genders, all manner of wear. (Or was he starting at you, for taking his picture?) Which brings up a ??

Do you get complaints from people when you take their photos in public? I know it's legal and all, but do very many folks get upset with you? Or is it just a big part of the world of today. I think I told you this before, but I had a guy come out of his house and give me a real raft, because he said I was taking pictures through his window. I was ACTUALLY taking pictures of a Christmas tree in his garbage can by the street, but he didn't really believe me. Even though I was totally legal, it brings up an interesting sort of thought process. And point that whether I"m legal or not, a punch in the nose is still a punch in the nose. Just wondering.

I've never had anyone complain about me taking photos. Although sometimes I get odd looks in the pictures, they're mostly coincidental - or maybe I'm just too obtuse to pick up on them at the time! But everyone has their phone out in the city, and lots of people are taking pictures with them.

I use a pair of bluetooth headphones as a shutter release. So I can keep them in one hand and the phone in the other, and be very discrete about what I'm photographing. I'm never looking at the screen when I take the picture. It's always a surprise to see what I've got at the end of the day.

Sometimes I leave the phone in my front shirt pocket and the camera just peeks over the edge. Obviously I get a lot of junk photos, but by taking 300 an hour I end up with a couple good ones.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-28T09:58:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 209.20/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Suns out-Guns out
That’s the saying we use when a guy is walking around with his arms showing.
Welcome to the gun show. Lol

I think it is very common to see that kind of clothing when you live near the beach, in my city it is very hot I think nobody thinks about the damage of the sun only in the heat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63