Finally Used a Stock Element in a Composite!

in #photography6 years ago

riverruins.jpg

A while ago I did a post about Pixabay.com I was intrigued by the idea of using stock photography from online in my composite images.

You can check out that post here:

https://steemit.com/photography/@wildempress/checking-out-pixabay

But I hadn't gotten around to it until now. I created this image with the woman standing by the river a few days ago, it looked as if she was looking at something on the other side. I played around with a few animal ideas, a horse or a deer, but I wasn't feeling it so I closed it and decided to come back today with a fresh eye.
fa.JPGfavs (2).JPG

That's when I decided maybe this was time to try a Pixabay element! I searched up "ruins" and this image came up on the first page. ruins-3254396.png
by user Natanvance.
https://pixabay.com/en/users/natanvance-33220/

This image is a PNG file which means a lot of work was already done for me! When I pull it into Photoshop it is on a transparent background. Super score!

While it was interesting to be able to use an element in my image I wouldn't typically have access to, I actually am not crazy about this one. It could be because I am working in horizontal format and my composition isn't jiving, or it could be that using a photo I didn't personally take is somehow nagging at my subconscious. I can't quite put my finger on why I am not into this final image. I think before I throw out the idea of using stock photography altogether I will have to try it a few more times. If I make a series of images, and I don't like any of them than maybe I will just stick to creating with all my own images.

What do you guys think? Anything stand out to you in this photo as to why it's not working? Or maybe it is working to you guys and I am the only one? I would love to know your thoughts!
vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

nice photography

Wlcm

I'm not interested in follow for follow. I only want people to follow me if they enjoy seeing my work.

I like your amazing photography .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31