Beautiful Self-Portrait Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

()

I submit my self-portrait photography to a stock agency to license for the use of book covers. I try to do at least one book cover planned shoot a week. It is not always self-portraits but this week it was. The theme for this week was all about the hair. To see all the behind the scenes of this photo session, including a time lapse video of the session, rejected images, and unedited images be sure to check out my last post: https://steemit.com/photography/@wildempress/behind-the-scenes-with-a-self-portrait-photographer-video

windayhair11.jpg
windyhair2.jpg
windyhair3.jpg

Now that I am done editing them I will be uploading them for review. The agency that I work with will then decide how many of the images they would like to accept for their gallery. I have never had all the images from a shoot accepted, with a shoot like this where many of them are quite similar I expect a high of 7 to be accepted but sometimes they don't take any of them.

windyhair4.jpgwindyhair5.jpgwindyhair6.jpgwindyhair7.jpg

Does this mean that you are soon to see one of these images on a book any time soon?
Actually no. I have over 2,000 accepted and up for licensing through the stock agency I work with, however I have only licensed images for around 20 books, some of those the same image used on different books. The likelihood of one of these images making it to a cover is actually pretty low.
windyhair8.jpgwindyhair9.jpgwindyhair10.jpg
windyhair11.jpg

Even if a publisher saw one of these images tomorrow and decided it was perfect for the book it would take months before the process was complete. They have to go through multiple channels of approval, and have the designer add the text and make any necessary changes to the image so that it works as a book cover.
windyhair15.jpg

I love talking about book covers, so if you have any questions about the process feel free to leave them in the comments and I will get back to you!

vanessa3.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44