My Very First Mexican Sunflower Got Its First Customer Today! ❁steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

20170618_083333_edited.jpg

I planted these Mexican sunflowers from seeds and it takes about 2 months to have the first flower! I'm very excited about it as I can see that there are a lot more flowers to bloom. I felt very lucky to see this beautiful orange butterfly on the very first Mexican sunflower that blooms just today! The different orange shades of both are just perfect together. And yes, that soothes my mind 😍

The latin name of Mexican sunflower is Tithonia diversifolia and it is one of the flowers in Asteraceae family (daisy, cosmos etc.). I love the very bright orange color of this flower as it does a great job attracting lives into my garden area.

20170618_083359_edited.jpg

Plus, it can be used as a green fertilizer. They even said that this beautiful flower can also be used as chicken feed, fuelwood, soil erosion control, and building materials.

For fertilization, it is used as a mulch which can be spread on top of the soil or buried beneath it. The advantages here is that using the plant as a fertilizer has proven to increase crop yields. It also helps to restore phosphorus in high amounts to the soil.

20170618_083323_edited.jpg

Symbolism

🌸 In Japan, towards the end of the Meiji Period, they were imported as ornamental plants although seldom cultivated there. Having a characteristic bitter taste, they were used to induce a fever to help fight poisoning, although not used for direct medicinal purposes. There is also the story of the species being introduced to Japan by Nitobe Inazo, hence its Japanese name, the Nitobe chrysanthemum (ニトベギク; Nitobegiku).

🌸 They are sold in herbal medicine markets in Taiwan.

🌸 It is the provincial flower of Mae Hong Son Province, Thailand.

🌸 It is the unofficial symbol of Da Lat city, Vietnam.

20170618_083439_edited.jpg

Source : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tithonia_diversifolia
Photos are taken by my Sumsung Galaxy Note ll

Wikawee 🙋
Colorful Wikawee.png

Sort:  

The variety I grow in the SW USA is a little more orange. Sometimes called Mexican Torch. They are prolific and amazing! I'm happy to mail seeds upon request.

@jonsimmons yes, they are amazing indeed! Thanks for your kind offering the seeds for friends :) Think we could exchange seeds sometime!

I don't think that crimson can be any more vivid. What a beauty! Impressive that they help put nutrients back in the soil, depletion being an issue and all. Great photos and post @wikawee.

Thanks @bloomview it is really good to have flowers in the garden :)

Pretty lovely, send me some seed in the fall

Hi, I can send the seeds to you! Love to have a community that we will be able to exchange heirloom seeds here. Once it ready I will make another post for it!

Thanks, getting into gardening and looking to block all my weeds with flowers LOL oh and feed my bees

You got bee hives! That's amazing!

Just getting started in Beekeeping. I have three colonies from helping folks get bees out of their houses. Little scary but I managed to get them in some hives.

Really like that second image. Pretty.

Thank you for gifting this post to the world @wikawee! In return, we offer you a gift of 1.0 Ohm.

If you would like to accept our gift, please reply to this Comment with your Ohm Wallet Address. If you would like to setup an address or learn more about Ohm, check out the Ohm Wallet FAQ.

We have also Upvoted and Resteemed your post so that your gift can reach more people! To see all posts which have been offered Ohm for uplifting humanity, check out @maxwellbeing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50