The photo that made me famous (For a short while!)

in #photography7 years ago

Mako.jpg

Back in December of 2014 I heard from friends that a shark had washed up on the local beach. We don't have proper sharks in our waters and to be honest I wasn't expecting to find an oversized dog fish or maybe at most a basking shark which aren't that uncommon. Instead I found this monster 10 foot Mako shark! I have no idea what it was doing in our waters, it was thousands of miles away from where it should be. It was fresh too it must have died within 24 hours.

I sent my picture into BBC news as I thought it may be of interest. Next thing I know I'm being chased by various media companies wanting to use the picture... I sold it and it appeared in all the national newspapers . I didn't make a lot but it was nice to earn a little for it. Having my photo in the papers was much more exciting than the money though.

Funny thing was I was supposed to be in work at the time I took the picture. I had heard the shark was there and finished early to go see it. Hard to pretend I was still in work at the time when the pictures were plastered over every paper the next morning!!

Sort:  

Such a sad picture, wish it could have been saved

It is sad, we never found out why it died. It was reported to the local University's Marine Biologists but they took so long to arrive it was too decayed to tell what might have happened. It certainly looked healthy enough, an amazing creature.

What a waste such a beautiful animal

An excellent image of despair and aloneness! Your a right Kevin Carter alright!!

P.S. UV and Resteemed. The best image I've seen on Steemit all week - and I've seen a lot!!

Thank you @mindhunter that is very flattering :)

Only where it's deserved ;)

high praise! I try try to capture the "feel" as best I can but I'm just an amateur

I'm glad the post is capturing $'s for you now :) Well done @westworld!!

That's a great picture. Poor shark. I wonder what its story is...

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.16 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That's a great shot.

wow sad picture

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you! +UP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41