Change Your Focus

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I'm constantly blown away, by my son's iPhone...mainly, the picture quality he gets. Being an Android fellow, I've tried many apps to "better" my pictures. While I know the true focus, is on the photographers 'eye', I'd like to share with you, a happy accident...

IMG_20180627_222829.jpg

change your focus...

So my son and I, started experimenting...and found something we thought was rather cool...

20180721_212423_HDR.jpg

If you turn your phone upside down (I'm using a Samsung Mega 2) it changes the "focus" creating what we thought was a really cool perception effect...

I even tried it against a tree

20180613_185004_Richtone(HDR).jpg

It seems no matter what the "subject" is, the end result turns out quite nice. I even took advantage of a rainy day, and tried to capture the 'mirrored' effect of our deck...

20180626_111717_Richtone(HDR).jpg

Pretty cool aye!?

I'd love to hear (see) what cool ideas, or effects you've used; I'm sure our idea isn't something new, but we had a blast being outside, and enjoying God's creations...hope you're having a wonderful day fellow Steemians...

Love and Light

Wes

wesphilbin_red.png
wesphilbin_blue.png

Sort:  

Oh I love it!!! I also love the orientation as is on the photos already! Adds a kinda of darkness to the photos (for me anyway 😂).

@allylou, thank you! ! Ive tried several times to change the orientation on this post. But the images keep showing sideways. . Still learning..

Awww look at you two xx

Wes try editing the photo's orientation on rhe phone before you upload.

I would like to recommend PicsArt. If you scroll down my blog most of my images are made with PicsArt. Works awesome!

Those are cool shots
I seldom use my phone for photos since I pretty much always have my camera with me so have nothing to share

Welcome to Steemit

Thanks my friend; after looking at your work, that is quite a compliment. I bought one of those Canon Powershots for my other half, back in my working days. Wasn't what I thought it was going to be, but then, you do get what you pay for aye? Appreciate the comment...

@wesphilbin MY Pleasure to visit, Photography is a hobby that relaxes me so I get out at least once often more a week getting shots

I have spent far to much on camera gear over the years LOL

Congratulations @wesphilbin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Before you tag #steemusa any further please join the SteemUSA discord server. You will land in the Welcome channels where the founders will approve your application to join the community. :)

@bearone, thank you! I was unaware; doing that now!

I rarely use my phone anymore but my galaxy has a pro mode setting... there you can adjust the settings as if you had a dslr camera.. its rare i dont have my nikon D3400 with me.. but... a lot of phone apps do tske away from some photos. I use photoshop cc 2018.. its $10 a month but you get the whole suite for that...

Indeed; I've got a family member with a Edge 8...has the Pro Mode. I was, in my opinion, able to get a "simular" effect, by turning my phone upside down. I've got a Mega 2, and a LG Stylo 2...both seem to take 'ok' pics. I bought my other half, a Canon Power Shot SX400 IS, but of course wasn't what I expected.

Entry level camera of course; can't add lenses etc, but all I really do is goof around...

Sure do appreciate your reply; thank you my friend.

Edit: forgot to mention, I've got varoius Apps I use; Pixlr, Photoshop Touch, Aviary, and sometimes Lightroom...

Try pics art.. they have a free version as well as in app purchases...

Thank you!
My good friend @bearone suggested that as well...

Try pics art.. they have a free version as well as in app purchases...

I'm still learning about Steemit....realize the orientation is wrong on the pictures...apologies! I'll fix soon...

@derekcowan, felt I should share my post your way; no where near your talent...but trying to be a more productive Steemian...

received_10214385836433175.jpeg

This one uploaded just fine :)

Congratulations @wesphilbin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52