Walk Down Belmont (Chicago IL)

in #photography7 years ago

Hi Steemit, it's been a couple weeks since I last posted, I've been very busy with work and I've been on the road! I'm currently in California but it looks like my photojournal/blog will be a few weeks behind most of the time. Here are some pictures I took around the last week of June, walking west from my apartment near Belmont and Kimbal. Enjoy!

wdb_1.jpg

Painting of owls near my apartment. Beautiful art, sorry for the shadow!

wdb_2.jpg

The old and the new: Doggy Dojo takes the place of Schwarz and Baum Co.

wdb_3.jpg

wdb_4.jpg

I like the colors on this one and and a bit of a twist on the old vs new, commercial and residential.

wdb_5.jpg

They used to manufacture and sell ice here. Ice. It's amazing how permanent things must have seemed to people in the past to be willing to literally set it in stone.

wdb_6.jpg

This Sizuki was on blocks and jacks and looked like it had been there a while. How do you think it happened?

wdb_7.jpg

This ancient fence and gate near the end of my journey. How European!

wdb_8.jpg

I turned around at Kostner and headed back home. You can see the gate in the lower left!

BONUS:
wdb_9.jpg

What's left of Welcome to Avondale. I'd say it's accurate, most people don't know the neighborhood even exists anymore. I always just told people I was from Logan Square, but Avondale is one of the best neighborhoods in the city!

Thanks for checking out my pictures! I'll be posting more soon (including what I have in my bag once I have it fully sorted) and my trips to Las Vegas and Los Angles!

Best,

Alex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60661.72
ETH 2395.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56