You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts, Words and Photos (Thirty One)

in #photography6 years ago

There are toxic and corrosive people everywhere and then there are those with the special privilege of being both.

It is quite disheartening to see people deliberately set out to make things difficult for people around them; not just because of financial gain but also for the pleasure of it.

Human beings love power. The feeling of being able to stand over a cringing man feels, for some, as sweet as a hunter standing over a dying doe. This pleasure of the kill is what pushes and pulls toxic people about their business.

Those who cause pain and hurt for financial reward, to me, are better than those who do it for pleasure. For the first, remove the financial reward and they will disappear but the second do not care.

But on the other hand, if the effects of toxic people cause you a business deal is it not as hurtful as if it cost you your marriage?

The world is a place full with varieties of personalities and people with different shades of personalities open and hidden to the public. We can never truly know a man, we can only judge them by their actions. So if the effect of a man's actions are negative, no matter how good the intentions behind the actions were, it is enough cause to be wary. Othello didn't see the toxicity that was Iago. He thought Iago loves him and wanted him to be happy. The effect of Iago's manipulation was the death of his love, Desdemona by his hands. But again, by the time the effect of a poison starts to show, is it not mostly too late?

The best way most people fight toxicity is to stay out of its way. This, they do because of fear. Will he or she calmly withdraw or will he or she attack with something worse? This fear is why most people turn away when they see things going wrong. As long as they are not at the receiving end, they are in their rooms thanking God.

What about toxic friendships? Where everyone sees that your friend is doing you more harm than good but you don't see this. Sometimes irreparable damage is done, before one realizes that he or she had been had.

Toxic and corrosive people are like decay and dirt. We don't like them but they are everywhere and no matter how much we try to avoid them, we find ourselves within their sphere of influence everytime. We can either be strong and stand up to them and hope that we have enough ammunition and armour to withstand their barrage or we flee them.

I mostly cut off toxic relationships. In fact, I have changed locations just to be away from people whose words and actions do not go well with me. Is my solution foolproof? No. What about the internet troll? The office boss or colleague, the neighbour, etc. What do I do about them? Will keep running away from confronting the issues in front of me or will speak up and damn the consequences?

I think I have weaved about my thoughts like a drunken boxer enough. Let me go back to sleep. I will probably have a better commentary on your post @tarazkp when I wake up. You have given me much to think on. Peace

Sort:  

I rarely turn away in the real world as I figure, I can take the abuse with relative ease. Can their next target?

Truth there. The fact that you rarely turn away speaks of your strength. Not everyone can act from a position of strength, sometimes in the real world, we bid our time and wait for a sign of weakness or for support from those who are stronger before we stand up.

I have stood up for someone once and while his oppressor bullied and intimidated me for standing up, he stood aside and watched. He did nothing. I came because I thought both of us could do better against the guy, but he left me to battle alone. Even a friend that came with me, stood aside and watched.

I will not pretend to be a hero when I am not. I speak up when I believe that my speaking up will achieve something. If I feel I am not good enough, I call attention to it, I bring those with the power to attack such toxic behaviour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45