Wander Snaps #4: Active Volcanoes - Sunrise at Mt. Bromo and the Blue Flames of Mt. Ijen

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

What the hell is Wander Snaps?

Wander Snaps is the twin sister of my Wander Blog where I present to you more photos that I could not fit my blog. It's a twin series. Some of my side stories are on these photos and not in that blog.

Today’s Wander Snaps is in connection to my previous blog about the scam that I have experienced from a Mt. Bromo travel agency. If you would like to know about that story then here’s a link for your convenience.

No thanks, I don’t like reading long blogs.

Then this post is for you!

But I have already seen your Mt. Bromo photos. I’m sure the mountain will look the same.

That’s right! That’s why I am not only showing Mt. Bromo photos here, I’m also presenting Mt. Ijen! If you haven’t seen a volcano that produces blue light then you have to stay with me.

Okay, show it before it becomes another wordy blog of yours, @wanderlass!

Alright! Here are my snaps.

Sunrise at Mt. Bromo

Got up early to witness sunrise over a volcano. There were so many photobombers that I had to jump outside the platform! Don’t worry there were big bushes to protect me. Not advisable though.
DSC02422.JPG

Now a better view, and the bushes protecting me!
DSC02436.JPG



Time to go the crater! The easiest way to get there is to ride a horse, but we walked to save some travel money
DSC02491.JPG

It’s a looong and hot way but it was flat
DSC02502.JPG

Thank goodness for stairs
DSC02513.JPG

Smoking hot crater!
DSC02525.JPG

The viewing platform. Just don’t stand on those, some risk their lives by standing on those fences just to get a great selfie.
DSC02554.JPG

And there are those who don’t like fences at all.
DSC02590.JPG

And there’s a kitten on our way to Mt. Ijen! Sorry, I couldn’t take you home. <3
DSC02665.JPG

Blue Lights of Mt. Ijen

Mt Ijen is another active volcano in East Java. We arrived there at dinner time and we were told that the best time to trek was after midnight so we can see the blue light. The phenomenal blue flames are sulfuric flames and can only be seen at around 3 A.M. as it will lose the color when when the sun shines.

We debated with our fellow travelers whether want to lose sleep again to see the blue light. In the end, seeing something new won over sleep!

You need a better camera to get nicer photos (or photography skills!). These are the best I was able to take and the moment I regret not learning photography.
DSC02672.JPG

Our guide told us that we can go down and see it closer. Yes, we believed him and we want adventure!
DSC02750.JPG


We found that there’s a big sulfur mining activity at the crater and this is where the blue light comes from.
DSC02757.JPG

DSC02762.JPG

And that smoke is sulfur. I think I have inhaled too much sulfur one can have in their lifetime. Haven’t checked the side effects. It could be the reason why I've become crazier!
DSC02685.JPG

It’s almost sunrise and the flames aren't so blue anymore.
DSC02778.JPG

We climbed back to see a better view of the crater from above.
DSC02801.JPG

The stunning crater
DSC02882.JPG

The beautiful mountain trail.
DSC02868.JPG

Not the best panorama, but just to give you an idea of the view.
DSC02874.JPG

Sulfur mined from the volcano
DSC02906.JPG

The miners carry these for hours and I bet these are very heavy. They also do not have any protective mining gear and risk their lives to earn a living.
DSC02802.JPG

We found this PROHIBITED sign afterwards! Too late!

DSC02828.JPG


This would be my last post for my Indonesia trip and I’ll be moving on for my more recent trips. Stay tuned!
All snaps are mine using Sony NEX-C3D

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

I don't like fences,

"Don't fence me in! Just turn me looooooose, let me straddle my own sale on the other side...."

I know you don't that's why you're where you are now. And you're supposed to be jomad :p

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wanderlass
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wander-snaps-4-active-volcanoes-sunrise-at-mt-bromo-and-the-blue-flames-of-mt-ijen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Awesome! I have followed you! Thanks @photocurator bot :D

I don't like fences!

"Don't fence me in! Just let me straddle my own saddle over on the other side. Don't fence me in."

it's another awesome place ever and danger more than my Mr. Snake lol. and i feel sad for the kitty. :(

It's dangerous but beautiful! And yeah I feel sad for the stray kitty, she looks sad :(

Wow .., this is a perfect photography, and very beautiful. Do not you feel hot to take pictures at such close range?

Thanks @ami92 :) it wasn't so hot because the early morning cold weather helped. But the smoke was intense and was suffocating. You should bring a mask if you go there.

Beautiful crater sis! Now I wonder too kung anong side effects of breathing sulfur! haha. I hope there isn't any bad side effects. Losing sleep to see this is definitely worth it ❤

Hi @enjieneer, thanks for dropping by. You'll find out if magkita tau sa Saturday if me side effect tlaga sya sakin :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow wanderlass. Beautiful post. Have you thought about tagging it in the #walkwithme category? This post would sky rocket on that tag no doubt. On other notes, I wanted to pop by your blog and say thank you for supporting the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. It is appreciated. And of course, this post is being resteemed and upvoted. :)

Hello @mudcat36 it's my pleasure to be part of the Newbie Resteem Initiative. I've been busy so I'm dedicating my Friday for it - the Minnow Fridays like that of @amariespeaks Minnow Mondays :)

I appreciate your support too for this post. I haven't thought of the #walkwithme tag for this. Thanks for the tip! :)

I believe from how well you have taken these photos and your descriptions that it would be a post that would truly fly in the walkwithme tag. It truly was an enjoyable post to read.

Thanks so much @mudcat36 :) Appreciate your nice feedback :)

The blue lake is amazing! I need to visit more volcanoes! I love volcanic islands.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83