Things I've learned watching the storm

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

FB 20September-5644-Edit.jpg

Last summer I've spent 2 hours taking pictures of the storm.
Started by setting up my camera on a tripod and using my phone as a intervalometer for 30-50 second exposures.
But while waiting for for the camera to do its job and taking care to wipe my lens every now and then I realised the storm had a special effect on me. I'm normally a adhd kind of guy but waiting at the window and listening to the storm calmed my brain in a special way. It was all serenity even with the thunders striking left and right it calmed me down.

I ended up with around 200 files and only around 1/10 of them had a thunder in it. And spend the next hours editing in peace

storm.JPG

Sort:  

Your beautiful shots have rekindled my passion for photography. The shots are amazing. Just keep posting things like this.

thank you

Nicely done! Never had much luck with lightning photography - always wanted to try it more. :)

its all about patience, but it quite enjoyable

Yep, patience and foresight - the lightning never goes where I want it, lol.

that's something you can't control so shoot wide and crop after. all you can predict its the general direction of the storm and the direction its going by watching the clouds move

True. Just need more chances to practice! :)

Beautiful shots, I never manage to catch lightening. Also find thunderstorms strangely relaxing :)

its a bit strange most of my buddys find them either annoying or stressful

the colors coming out are terrific. was wondering if it were long exposures, but that wouldn't ,make sense, since you wouldn't be able to picture the lightning. what settings did you use? would be really informational if you could add that to your article.
Thanks for sharing!

also i had a ND8 filtre in the mix

thanks mate!

I've never done lightning photography or dark sky milky way type. Its on the list though!

Ok, my next post milky way

Wonderful shots of thunder
^o^
So glad i saw your post in
World of Photography discord

im glad to know that someone is actually checking out those links. it always seems like nobody does

That's exactly what i think: nobody checks. Even in other servers, as soon as you share a link, it gets buried unnoticed. Kinda sad, really.

So when i'm up for it, after sharing my link, i scroll and look for posts worthy of an upvote.

I do the same, i scroll until i see at least 1 nice photo

Love this framing. And love storms. Nice work mate.

thank you, it was so calming to stay there and just watch the storm

Dude this is so good! Lightning can be tricky, very well done.

Thank you. It can be tricky and i was very lucky since i had quite a narrow angle here

It turned out great, the warm lights surrounded by contrasting cool colors makes it very visually pleasing, even at a glance, then you focus and realize your looking at lightning, this is very good.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65