You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chattanooga's Tennessee Aquarium: Part 1

in #photography7 years ago

@ats-david - Amazing pictures of the aqueous creatures. Such clarity is difficult to achieve for me while taking pictures through glass and water. I love the sea horse and also your creative captions. The one about 'need human contact bro' is the best . LOL

The picture of the bee is also so sharp. Amazing photography. I write wildlife awareness blogs with a funny twist. I wish I could get such amazing pictures.

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted full.

Regards,

@vm2904

Sort:  

Such clarity is difficult to achieve for me while taking pictures through glass and water.

It wasn't easy. And add to that the fact that it was pretty dark in there and using a flash wasn't an option. I had to bump the ISO pretty high and slow down the shutter speed a bit. Good thing I was working with a Canon 6D!

The camera was still fairly new for me at the time, so the pictures weren't as good as they could have been. I'll have to try again in the near future.

I suppose you pressed your lens against the glass to avoid refelections? At what ISO did you shoot?
We have a large aquarium too in my hometown and your pictures gave me some idea's... thanks for that.
And indeed, who are we to question his reality??? 😂 Love it!

I wasn't pressed up against the glass, but I was pretty close to it.

Just checking some of the photos, it looks like I was mostly shooting between ISO 3200-6400. But they were still a bit dark. I had to adjust the exposure in Lightroom for the indoor photos here.

Don't you get a lot of noise at 6400? I do press my lens to the glass in those cases and when I don't have a tripod with me... that way my camera is more stable and I can use a longer shutter time, avoiding going high in ISO. But it doesn't always work... no problem with fish, but if you try that with monkeys you get a closeup of their nose 😂

Anyway, thanks for the much appreciated upvote! But, I was wondering...after you upvoted a whole army started to do the same, I almost had to hide in the bushes 😜🙃😜 Are you some kind of general ?😉

I get some noise at 6400, but it’s not too bad for the size of the images or the subjects in them. If I were to fully zoom in, I’d probably get different results.

I was recently shooting in a bar/club on 16,000+ and the results were fine. Having that full-frame censor makes a huge difference and I’ve only heard great things about the 6D’s performance in low light.

Are you some kind of general?

You know...now that I think about it...I kind of am a general!

🎖🎖🎖😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50