PhotoSpeak #1: Man vs. Nature...

in #photography7 years ago

Man made Electricity vs. Nature's perpetual Energy source!

I think this picture captures the striking contrast.


As I drove on the N4 from Pretoria, towards Nelspruit, the sun came up, highlighting the ugly man-made electric towers - as if reminding me of the puniness of man's effort against the might of nature!

If sunbeams were weapons of war, we would have had solar energy centuries ago - George Porter

man vs nature_1024x768.jpg

I know we are not against technology and progress. However, do we think that we need to achieve balance between progress and harmony with nature? What do you think? Please comment and voice your opinion. Please re-steem and spread the message if you like.


Photo taken by me with SX50HS camera

upvote follow resteem.gif

Sort:  

I think we need to move towards using more renewable energy sources. It would also be good if it could be a more decentralized system with local production as close to the end user as possible. I have myself installed solar panels in two different locations and for the last couple of years get part of my electricity directly from the sun.

True. My father in law has written a book on renewable energy sources and has made exactly the same point in his book about decentralization of energy sources. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and your comment.

Nice post friend...

Thank you very much

Ah when I saw this photo I knew it MUST be South Africa. I have had the same thoughts before too, we can build our ghastly buildings, but Mother Nature will always be superior.

Well said @sweetpea. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Will take a look at your blogs in a short while.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vm2904 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow that is an amazing photo, I have been on that road before, I always try taking photos with my cell through the car window. They never turn out good :D

@dragonslayer109 - Thank you so much for your appreciation. I guess the splendor of the sun was so good that my picture turned out good. I am sure you are a great photographer but with nature pics, as you know, sometimes being at the right place at the right time makes a good photo. :)

That sunrise is damn too gorgeous!!! That hot sexy sun.. ^_^
Renewable energy for the win!
In my spare time from i am researching a bit about Underwater Ocean Turbines. I just love the idea of tidal stream generators. Needs more study and data to make it more feasible though.

Thank you for your appreciation and the meaningful comment. Renewable energy is a hot subject for engineers now. I am happy to hear that you are trying to study various natural source driven turbines. I will be interests in knowing the process you make if you are kind enough to share. Will take a look at your blogs shortly. Thanks

Oh my blogs is all about life and enjoyment and some of my random pictures. :D
Being in a construction company, i was researching for other sources of energy, rather than the typical coal power, why not venture in renewable energy. I'm looking at solar power, wind generation, and this tidal energy. It does look promising, it does really need more research and support.

Problem with decentralization is that it makes it easier for the existing Giant to rob the individual.( personal opinion) In South Africa some of the Bigger Companies have started putting Solar Panels on the Roofed External parking for their employees vehicles , and making very real savings on expenses!
Thank You, for a thought provoking post.

Nice vm2904. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56849.09
ETH 2508.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32