📷 Haleakala Sunrise - Maui's Highest Peak

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Haleakala National Park is 10,023 (3,005 m) above sea level. Haleakala means "house of the sun"; this sunrise has been a visiter attraction since the late 1800s. In the picture below we were at the summit district about 7,000 feet (2,134 m) of elevation.

MAUI.jpg

In this photo we were at the peak which reaches 10,023 ft (3,055 m) above sea level. It is an amazing view! However, if you want to see the sunrise you do have to make reservations due to limited parking. You can arrive at 5:30 am, & I believe the park opens at 5:45 am. You don't want to miss it! It is an AMAZING SUNRISE!

HIGH.jpg

SCIENCE!!

SPACE.jpg

Did I mention Haleakala is also famous for having the ONLY silver cactus on U.S. soil?! That's right silver cacti everywhere! It is so unreal! NO touching of course, or you can face up to 10 years in jail! Don't mess with mother nature ya'll! ;)

CACTUS.jpg

Oh & thats me, Amy Jay up in the sky! If you do plan on visiting be sure to take warm clothing it is cold up there. Don't let the heat down below the island fool you.

MEH.jpg

Last but not least, there is a hike you can do if you're up for it. It is a sandy hike and does go in the crater. So you will see a lot of red sand and amazing views like the picture below. It takes about 2-3 hours to complete the hike, but it is worth it. :)

MOUNTAINS.jpg

Images Taken by Amy Jay of Vizual Samurai

BYAMYsmalle.jpg
DSLR Camera: http://amzn.to/2s96d2O
Lens: http://amzn.to/2rLaE38
Genesis Mining code : JgOA5k

DQmfQDbXPbsV73NU4DGd5ZbNGjbPNy2e4NU3apjD5Lcipgf_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

Amazing and marvelous picture. I like it @vizualsamuri . U got two thumbs and Upvoted DONE. View my blog for my latest post (B & W photo).

yes I'll definitely check it out! Thank you so much, it means a lot! 😊😊

Those are out of this world!!

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you! 😊😊

I may have to bookmark your post, when winter rolls around again I might need to refresh my memory.

That's the best time to come to Hawaii! It doesn't get cold here during winter time. Of course if you go to Haleakala, it will be slightly colder lol

We might have slightly different definitions of "cold". ;-)

Those look truly amazing, you are really above clouds.
On the second photo I don't know if the camera is looking slightly up or down, I'm confused but it's great :D
Resteemd

On the second photo I postitioned the camera in between the road and the sky, it looks a little trippy but that's how the view was.. it was truly unreal! Thanks a lot @tomekkk 😊😊😊🤙🏽

Yea looks great :D keep it up.

So beautiful. Great post. Aloha from Honolulu!

Mahalo! We also live in Honolulu 🤙🏽😊😊

Yay! I don't feel so alone...just kidding.

Awesome series.

Mahalo friend! 😊🤙🏽

Absolutely breath taking pictures. One day....😊

I used to say the same & then I made it happen... you can too! 😊😊 best of luck and thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81