Stock Photography | First Steps 1.2

in #photography6 years ago

We've just begun a journey into the world of stock photography! My goal is to discover all the pros and cons of building a stock photography business today. In my first installment, we talked about getting into the mindset of taking photos with the intention of them becoming stock work. In the second installment, I gave a framework for downloading and storing your photography. This is an organization intensive project. You have to know what photos you have uploaded where.

Now it's time to begin the process of distribution. I don't draw the line between "stock photography" and my "body of work" at this point. In fact, right now, I can't even tell you there is a difference. At least I don't treat it that way. Here's what I am getting at; after we get through these initial stages of setting up your stock photography business, we will literally get into the trenches of all the major stock houses and find out everything there is. But you have to be patient! I think this next step is a very important one.

Create Your Portfolio

The first thing I did to create a point of contact on the internet was to create my portfolio web site. I had a couple of requirements; that it be fairly easy to work with and that it could sell the photos without me being directly involved. Instead of me even hoping to review all the possibilities out there, I found this very extensive list of potential portfolio website developers out there for you to peruse. I chose SmugMug based on other people I knew who had their product. Something like this is a pretty big commitment. I use it as my receptacle of anything I consider good enough to sell. So at this point, it is not something I would want to move! it has thousands of photos. You can see it here.

ctp.jpg

I sell a couple of prints from this site a month. Most of it is from my own efforts and referring people to the link for the picture they are interested in that they saw on Facebook or somewhere. So it more than pays for itself.

Another product recommended in the list I linked you to, above, recommends WIX as a potential place. It just so happens I have a WIX site too LOL. Why? I have used it to showcase some of my Cuba photography that has been entered into competitions and shows. So it gives people a relevant place to connect to. It costs very little annually, So I continue to pay for it. You can see it here. I built this site in a few hours. The WIX system is very simple. But it does not offer any sort of sales capability.

wix.jpg

I have also tried out virtual gallery situations. The way I look at it, the more places you are seen the more opportunity you have to make a sale! There is a myriad of situations out there. Some, you just pay a fee to upload x amount of photos and agree to share a percentage of the sale with them.

yag.jpg

Others choose you and act more like an agent with no cost until a sale is made. In all cases you want to do your homework and not get caught in some scam. The web site needs to be in business for some time and not have pages and pages of complaints on google. None of these situations should be asking for any sort of exclusive licensing from you either.

gap.jpg

This isn't something you do all at once. What I am trying to say is there are many ways to get your photos in front of people. Stock photography is the most anonymous. These microsites help you create a larger footprint in the marketplace for your brand. In the future we are going to come to a stock site and they are going to want to see where we are as part of their consideration in accepting us or not. A little credibility can go a long way.

The idea is to get started. Establish that original portfolio site now, not some day. Because I will be back in a week with our next installment. We will go review what I've done in the stock world so far. Which is not much. With that review in hand we'll be able to map out a plan to attack this giant mountain, one step at a time! Are you with me?


©Copyright Chris Tucker All Rights Reserved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71