Sort:  

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Thank you very much for sharing this complete report on the operation of a dairy farm.

I had seen the manual process a few years ago, but it seems that things have changed somewhat. You are right about the thinness of the cows and the separation of the calves. I think the business demands it that way, you just have to ask the cows if they are happy.

Great job!

Larger dairies really can't do it manually - it's too labor intensive. I took some ag classes many years ago and one of them was seeing how the dairy worked... very similar to Dirk's operation.

You have to remember that dairy cows are finer boned than beef cows. Their bones will show through their hide a lot more too. So, I can forgive the thin calf, who (I'm pretty certain) is simply too young to have put on much fat yet.

The separation of the calves does bother me though - I would think there would be some way to make it easier/better such as raising nurse cows who don't mind taking on the extras... maybe ones that don't have the desired quantity wanted for the industry, but enough to raise three-four calves at a time. That's my idea, anyway.

As for happy, most of them seemed quite happy. There was no shouting or anything like that to get the cows moving, it wasn't needed, just calm direction. The quietness of the operation was also very notable. The cows were nervous about me - a stranger - but definitely were not wary of their handlers at all.

I always look forward to your photos and stories! I love reading them!

!giphy amazing

Posted using Partiko Android




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Fascinating post, thanks!

I am just curious. What happens to a cow when its too old to give milk? Are they killed?

I confess I didn't ask that question. I would presume that while he might choose to keep a couple of "pets" - that most enter the food chain, possibly for pet food. However, they definitely enjoy a longer life than most farm cows and certainly his seemed very happy indeed.

Your cows look very neat compared to what I see around here

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! They're my friend, Dirk's cows... But it's also summer in these pictures. I doubt they will look as clean in the winter - it's a very rainy area.

Probably not look so clean

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 113 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35