The festival of Holi in Vrindavan, India

10443724_10152082256132085_1258624970_n.jpg

This photo was taken in the morning light of a small town called Vrindavan in Uttar Pradesh, northern India. This is no normal town, but a religious one. Lord Krishna is said to have spent an idyllic childhood here. Since that mythical time, it has evolved into a home for devotees, searching for peace. Travellers often come to don the colours of Indian culture and end up wearing white 'dhotis' and 'saris' (traditional Indian outfits) for the rest of their lives, never leaving. This City of Temples is home to more than 5000, most of which are architectural masterpieces. There is an electric energy in the air of Vrindavan, impossible to ignore. I personally am an atheist, yet I felt the strong pull of belief. This made my experience of photographing the festival of colours that much special. People dismiss all despair and rejoice in the coming of Spring. My photographic journey in Vrindavan saw many ups and downs with the threat of water around my camera and burglars around my wallet, but the holy hues in my lens made it all worth it.

Sort:  

Absolutely stunning work you have there. :)

Thank you very much! The vibe of the festival is unmatched. Please check out my series https://steemit.com/photography/@vidishakhaitan/the-festival-of-colours-2

What a post! you are writing very good and give a good scene of morning time. keep it up very nice post with hardworking
Great ! ! @ vidishakhaitan

Thanks a lot! check out the entire series starting https://steemit.com/photography/@vidishakhaitan/the-festival-of-colours-2. I will soon be posting a series on Humayun's Tomb in New Delhi.

It really makes sense to read this review written from an atheist. I'd have loved some more colourful photographs of this place from you. But always give safety a priority. Be strong and travel safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72