My Mom said "I DO" at 82

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Life is not over til it is over. Here is some proof!

Wedding_cake.jpg

2 weeks ago my Mother got married for the second time in her life and I could not be more happy for her and my new step-dad.

Mom married my dad when she was 16 years old. They together raised 7 mighty fine children. Dad passed on 20 years ago but not before he got to meet his 15 grand-kids and a few of his great grands. Now those 15 grands have introduced my mom to an additional 28 Great Grandkids, 5 Great Great Grand-kids with 2 more on the way.

Even with all these kids, grands, greats and great greats, she was lonely for that companionship and was missing something.

WELL, she found that something in a man named Jim and our family has bonded with Jim's family and the love continues on and continues to grow (I now have 2 new brothers and a sister).

I can't think of anyone more deserving of some happiness and peace than my Mom. Times were not always easy, sometimes working 3 jobs to make ends meet when my father took ill. About that same time my Grandmother (father's mother) who lived with us had a stroke which added to the workload. Somehow mom held it together.

A more honest woman I've never known. Even when times were hard (and there were many) I remember her driving 2 miles back to the little store in town to return 87 cents that she was given in change by mistake when the store clerk miscounted. I still shake my head on that one to this very day, but that is who she is. (I would have at least waited until the next planned trip to town and saved the gas)

Anyway, I wanted to make this little tribute post to my mom, who realizes, life is for living and she plans on doing just that.

Congratulations Mom and Jim! May you have many years of love and laughter . . .

Ever wonder what 5 generations of great gals look like?

5_generations.jpg

Her oldest daughter (me) standing with my arms around her first Grand-daughter and first Great Grand-daughter while she is seated, holding her FIRST GREAT GREAT Grand-daughter.

5 Generations of fun!

Thank you for taking the time to meet some of my family.

Love to all . . .

STEEM ON and may Peace BE the journey!

Sort:  

Beautiful family photo, looks like you have a wonderful family! Keep smiling!

Congratulations @vickiebarker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @vickiebarker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am so happy for her! you are never too old to recognize love when you meet it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71