Korean Bell With Rescue ChoppersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hello you Steemy Party People! I happened to be at Angel's Gate Park in San Pedro, CA last week, 2-27-18, and there were several cops and fire trucks there. The reason was that a 30 year old male had fallen or jumped off the cliffs. The story was covered by the Daily Breeze, "Man survives fall from Point Fermin Park cliffs in San Pedro"

Angel's Gate is known for its Korean Bell, there are surely many pictures of the bell but not so many with a rescue helicopter in it. The pilot was quite generous leaving the scene, almost posing for us. I wish I had better shots but I was kind of day dreaming and lost some time before I realized I should take my camera back out and capture the image before me.

Several rescue boats were off shore. The island pictured is Catalina Island, about 26 miles away. I also caught a sunset before I left.

While I was there I saw this young man with his camera gear and also heard his radio with the police chatter. I told him my father used to have one of those and asked if he could hear police and fire, he said yes. I asked if this was his job and he said he was a freelance photographer. I told him my father's radio had these removable chips for different jurisdictions and he said, yeah, you have to dial in to the right frequency. He was a cool guy but I had to wonder if he was inspired by the movie Nightcrawler. Nightcrawler is a GREAT movie.

After I left I remembered that "radio" is called a scanner. The guy said he got his from Amazon. Should I get one? Should I make some extra money as a freelance photographer? Is the field saturated by people touched by that movie? What do you think?

IMG_1304.JPG

IMG_1307.JPG

IMG_1308.JPG

IMG_1312.JPG

IMG_1313.JPG

IMG_1314.JPG

IMG_1315.JPG

IMG_1316.JPG

IMG_1317.JPG

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @via-veritas-vita.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95