My aesthetic

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


The way I’ve decorated our home and how I’ve designed sets can only be described as my own personal aesthetic. Every item is meticulously placed. I take colors, sizes, and textures into consideration as I mix old and new, fresh and dried plants.

Most of the items in our home were found on craigslist, under the antiques tag. The others were purchased out of state or at Hunt & Gather and the smallest percent are from estate sales. I’d love to start making time to visit more estate sales. 

I have an obsession with mirrors.

They help to bounce off light and they make the space look bigger. I like being able to see the same object reflected from a different perspective. It’s definitely more interesting for me to photograph. 

The right amount of clutter.

I will sometimes think of a story I’d like to tell while designing sets. I’ll get a little manic as I pace through rooms looking for items at random and then placing them quickly. I want my sets to look lived in and I will let things fall into place, balancing them out as I go. 

A little bit of shine.

If I’m able, I will always try to fit some glass objects into my sets. The textures are beautiful when lit by candlelight. The lights vary, they bounce and they flicker which adds a layer of elegant complexity.


I hope you enjoyed getting a glimpse into my mind. 

Thanks for reading. 🦊

Sort:  

I love your aesthetic. I feel like we are fairly like-minded in that respect... an eclectic mix, with just the right amount of shine, texture, layers. A little cluttered, but not messy.

We definitely are very like minded. Our style is like controlled chaos.

Absolutely love your sets! It is always interesting to see your photos and all the beautiful details and fun little items in them. I enjoy the combination of old and new, light and reflection. Always slightly mysterious. ^^

I wish I could’ve written more about it but the flow just wasn’t right. I’ve been doing marketing designs for most of my career so it feels like second nature to spot a well balanced set. Mysterious is a great description. I’ve been trying to capture this cinematic feel in my photos.

wow!great photography..i like this blog..amazing lifestyle..thanks for sharing this post..best of luck..

Yup youre right mirrors really make a place a lot bigger, :O by the way cool and amazing photos there :)

I wanna have a whole wall full of different sized mirrors. They look so cool and thank you for the compliments!

wow that would be amazing, instead of picture frames or paintings. Mirrors! thats cool!

That decoration is wonderful, it looks conservative, I do not know what name will be according to the style, but it is beautiful. When we work every detail, the result is spectacular and sometimes it is better than expected.

Thank you. Yeah, it’s kind of like putting on makeup. Halfway through your wondering if you just messed up your face but then you put some eye liner/lipstick on and it magically comes together!

me too I have an obsession with mirrors, glasses and lights! I especially like the first little box full of knick knack! You seem to have a sweet and tender soul

Aww, thank you for your kindness.

I love the old world feel of your taste! Classic and classy!

Thanks @velveteendream! It’s definitely easy to decorate when your partner shares a similar taste and gives you free range. :)

@ghostfish won't let me buy a green tufted velvet couch or a victorian love seat like yours because he is all about comfort. HAHAA so it's wonderful that you and @kommienezuspadt are on the same page.

Magnifico...

I love glass and vintage crystal around my home as well, how the light beautifully bounces off of those pieces is elegant and sexy. I too love old treasures that are new to me.
I got flagged on sola so I’m restricted from posting for a whole day, sorry if you and @kommienezuspadt have posted and I haven’t upvoted on there😐

Beautiful! You have such an worldly, elegant style :) love that the style of your photography sets are also reflected in your personal home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44