Lights out

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


Word of advice, go with your first instincts. I originally chose this set of images for a post but doubled back to see if I could add a different combination. I devoted my entire night to editing my portrait shots before realizing that this one single image was too strong for the others to compete. I wasn’t able to get a varied amount of poses in this particular frame, which was frustrating. The other images were fine but nothing captured the mood I wanted or screamed, “PICK ME!” 

Side not: Have you heard 1.0.1’s Pick Me song? Watching k-pop boys cover the dance is my guilty pleasure.  

I was telling @m31 the other day that I wanted to pack a duffle bag with all my stuff to set up outdoors for photos. I’ve got a vision that I’d like to recreate but I haven’t found the ideal location. It’s forecasted to rain most of this week so I’m trying to figure out the best days to be outdoors with my camera. Bringing along props seem unlikely but I’ll probably still go on a leisure nature walk. 

I had @kommienezuspadt drive us through a long scenic route home and I discovered that the new locations that I wanted to visit were right across from each other. If I play my cards right then maybe I’ll be able to quickly breeze through both areas to scout the best spots...or maybe I should stick to the idea of enjoying a leisure walk. Heh. 😅 Foxy needs to learn how to chill. 

This past Friday, I got a call from my sister-in-law, asking me if I could help her pick out outfits for a wedding that she was attending with my brother the following evening. Oh, was I excited! I love browsing through current trends. I helped her search for the ideal dress for her body shape before we found full looks for my brother and my adorable nephew. 

I also picked up several dresses for myself. There is one dress that really stands out and I knew instantly that it would be prefect for my more | less series. My other vision will be put on hold since capturing this look seems more plausible. I’m going to attempt to photograph it at a familiar location outdoors. The current set-up I have at home won’t be able to capture the full look. Since I know exactly where I want to go, I only have to fit it into my schedule and force myself to sleep early...much easier said than done. 


Thanks for reading! 🦊

Sort:  

You were right. It's difficult to express how much I like that first picture.

I know! Nothing beats that first image. :)

This was how I looked for six hours, dealing with my own internal struggle.

Beautiful work @vermillionfox ! :O That first image is so cool.. I saved in my reference folder :D Hope you dont mind.. but that perspective and look will probably be really useful if i ever again have to paint some mage/sorceres from above :D

Thanks @beekart! I don’t mind at all, I’ve actually been using some of the photos from this set as reference myself. :) You’ll have to tag me when you use it!

Thank you very much! Haha will do! ;))

Ah, your sets are always so gorgeous! That first photo has such beautiful composition and lighting... I can see why you'd struggle to find anything else to pair it with. I think you did right by just showcasing that pretty set. I've been thinking about/plotting a little photo shoot myself, and I always feel so inspired after seeing your photography posts... but the internal struggle and perfectionism is a real challenge.

Even if you don’t share the images I think you should definitely do it. That way you get the practice in and to understand your camera and yourself. ^^ good luck!

Lovely images, @vermillionfox! Intriguing and mysterious.

Hope the dress shopping goes well!

Beautiful, and I love the color balance

I know, the colors are my favorite part. I had a lot of fun editing these.

I want to see the scenarios you chose for your next job! Right now my internet does not help me, this slow :( hope to see you then

I hope I’ll be able to get photos taken soon!

Oh, that’s a bummer! I’m sure slow internet is frustrating. Usually when the internet fails for me then I take a break to do something else.

Beautiful work @vermillionfox ! :O That first image is so cool.. I saved in my reference folder :D Hope you dont mind.. but that perspective and look will probably be really useful if i ever again have to paint some mage/sorceres from above :D

Oooh I can’t wait to see the outfits you chose!
Also, you remind me of Alice in Wonderland with that clock in your picture~ lovely!

I’m so glad you pointed that out because that was what I was going for!

You are pure magic pretty friend!⭐️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62714.40
ETH 3447.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51