Paris: The Gardens of the Trocadéro and Lunch with my Mother and my Two Uncles

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

500 followers today!


As I explained in this post, my brother Benoît told me to be at the Trocadéro at 11:05 on Sunday June 11th. So, I decided to come early and to take pictures.


eiffeltoren-36394_w1000.jpg
The Trocadéro viewed from the Eiffel Tower
source

In this picture taken from the top of the Eiffel tower (not by myself), you can see the river Seine, the "Pont d'Iéna" (the bridge of Jena), the "Fontaine de Varsovie" (the Warsaw fountain) and the two wings of the "Palais de Chaillot" on each side of the esplanade of the Trocadéro.

The Gardens of the Trocadéro are on each side of the Fontaine of Varsovie. Most tourists do not even visit these gardens.


20170611_101842.jpg

English translation:
Destroyed after the French Revolution, the convent of the Visitation was located since 1651 on the esplanade at the top of the hill of Chaillot. To celebrate the capture of the fort of Cadix by the duc d'Angoulème, Louis XVIII planned to build there a monument baptized Villa Trocadero. Only the name stayed. The gardens of the Trocadero were created for the universal exposition of 1878 by the engineer Jean-Charles Alphand. The palace of Chaillot, the palace of Tokyo and the museum of modern art were built for the universal exposition of 1937. The fountain of Varsovie (1937) is made of basins in cascade over a large basin. The 20 water guns have a debit of around 8,000m3 of water per hour. There are small sculptures in the gardens and two monuments: "Aux combattants Polonais" (To the polish fighters) (1977) by André Greck and "À l'Amiral de Grasse" (To Admiral de Grasse) (1931) by Paul Landowski.

[For the record, Paul Landowski created the famous monumental statue Christ the Redeemer (Cristo redentor) in the bay of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil]

I first visited the right half of the gardens, and I found it almost empty.


20170611_103010.jpg

If you look carefully, you will see some people in the picture above. Those were the only ones I saw in this half of the gardens.


20170611_102653.jpg
20170611_102659.jpg


20170611_102828.jpg

This tree was cut a long time ago, but it refused to die.

I then crossed to the other side of the fountain of Varsovie, and in the left half I found more people, as there is a playing area for kids.


20170611_103951.jpg

There are also some magnificent trees.


20170611_104118.jpg
20170611_104124.jpg

Then I left the gardens, passing in front of the monument to the Admiral de Grasse.


20170611_104404.jpg

I knew where I was going: to the "Avenue de Camoëns". Probably the shortest avenue in Paris (115 m), it owes its name to the Portuguese poet, national literary glory, Luís de Camões (1525-1580).

There is only one access fro vehicles, the other end finishing with stairs, with a monument to Luís de Camões.

<center
20170611_104719.jpg

The reason I went to Avenue de Camoëns was that my paternal grandfather lived there with his family, including my mother until 1948. The apartment was at the top level of this building:


20170611_104958.jpg

On the other side of the avenue, there is a catholic private high school, the Lycée Saint-Louis-de-Gonzague, where my uncle Étienne, a jesuit priest, was a teacher and administrator for several decades.


20170611_105108.jpg

The lycée is better known as "Franklin", as its entrance is on "rue Benjamin-Franklin". Until recently, Brigitte Macron the wife of the recently elected president of France was teaching at Franklin.


20170611_105433.jpg

At the start of rue Benjamin-Franklin, on the "place du Trocadéro", there is a statue of [Benjamin Franklin]


20170611_105811.jpg

At 11:05, as expected, my brother Benoît was there and we went some 300 metres from the square to collect my uncle Michel (88 years old). You can see him leaving his apartment building.


20170611_111534.jpg

We then go to the retirement home where my uncle Étienne (90 years old) currently lives, then to the retirement home of my mother (96 years old) to have lunch together.


20170611_133621.jpg

From left to right: my brother Benoît, my mother, my uncle Étienne and my uncle Michel.

After lunch we had lively discussions in my mother's bedroom. It was a wonderful day, for me and, I believe, for all of us.





Sort:  

hi @vcelier, that was a great idea of sharing these pictures from the Garden of the Trocadero, i do miss France . Your relatives looks in very good health, did you talk about Steemit with them ?

Yes, I talked about Steemit with them.

But, at their age, they are not going to start blogging. They already have a hard time to understand what the Internet is.

Very nice post i folloewd you and upvote you plz give some upvote to my post .

Very nice! spectacular photos amazing views...

thanks for sharing

a good photo essay should take you on a walk like a tour guide - you did that magnificently, even translating the French, although we Canadians speak both languages, right? LOL!!

That tree to me is a symbol of endurance. It makes me sad to think someone tried to cut it down - but it survived, like France :)

Good work - following!

Thank you for your kind comment, eh.

It looks like there is history on every corner in Paris, and then combined with your family is an emotional highlight. Great to read!

Thank you.

There is history in many old cities, and even in recent ones too.

Even if I hadn't visited France before these pics made me feel like I did. Thank you for that @vcelier

You are welcome.

Very nice pictures. Nice you could be with family.

Beautiful location and some beautifully taken pictures...
a big thumbs up for you @vcelier

I love Paris, my dear @vcelier ! The beautiful city of light. I don't think I've ever visited this gardens, but are surely nice. The B. Franklin statue is there because of Masonic relationships between French and Americans, I believe ;)

No, I believe that the statue of Benjamin Franklin is there, because he was the ambassador to France from 1776 to 1785, and he was living not too far.

In December 1776, Franklin was dispatched to France as commissioner for the United States. He took with him as secretary his 16-year-old grandson, William Temple Franklin. They lived in a home in the Parisian suburb of Passy. (Wikipedia)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93