Ice Coming Down the Mountain along Harrison Lake, British Columbia

in #photography8 years ago

British Columbia is currently experiencing a long period of cold weather. Everything is relative and of course, this would not be consider very cold in Saskatchewan, Wyoming or Wisconsin. But, for Vancouver, where the temperature is rather mild for the latitude, freezing every day for 4 weeks is considered very cold.

Harrison Lake is situated 100 km east of Vancouver. It has been created by a glacier. Its area is about 250 square kilometres (95 mi²). It is about 60 km (37 mi) in length and almost 9 km (5.6 mi) across at its wildest.

Here is a view of the lake.



Harrison Lake, January 7th 2017

We have a house on the east side of the lake, 5 km from the village of Harrison Hot Springs. Driving from my house towards Harrison Hot Springs, the lake is on the right and the mountain is on the left.

When it is raining, which happens quite often in Beautiful British Columbia, the water goes down the mountain. And when the temperature is below zero degree Celsius, the water froze.

This is 300 meters from my house:





Two kilometres from the house, there is a small water fall. It is frozen too:



And one kilometre from Harrison Hot Springs, there is an ice wall:







I took all these pictures today with a Samsung Galaxy Note 3.

And then I realized that I had locked my car with the key inside!
So, I had to borrow my wife's car and go back to Burnaby to get my other key: a 250 km return trip.

Sort:  

Oh no!!!! Not a locked car !!! and a long drive to get another key. I hope everyone was happy :)
Beautiful pictures of a very unusual wether pattern for you out west.

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, I was happy to get back my car.

Great photos :) Not so great with the car...

Thank you. Indeed, not so great, but I will survive. It was not the first time, and something similar will probably happen again one day. Like I say: if life was too easy, it would not be so interesting,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38