I Made Minifigures Out Of Cardboard And Created Story Around Them

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I made minifigures out of cardboard and created story around them.

Cloumill.jpg

Im a creative minded person and feel very frustrated when the creativity strikes and have nothing to photograph. This was the main reason to start making these cardboard models.

Ran_Out_Of_Imagination.jpg

I thought all the everyday home items that could be used for creating figures and found the boxes we used when moved are still in our garage. They had also “nice” package symbols on them which gave me couple of ideas of the story that could be created around them and also ended up using them concretely on two of my pictures.

This_Side_Up.jpg

So the models are mostly made from cardboard and glued together with hot glue. “Letter to Pedro” has also leftover plastic on it that I have found from trash of local sign material selling company in the past and storaged it for a reason I don´t know. There are symbols printed and added to them and some other props made from different materials. The landscape materials varies from sandblasting sand to real water and potato flours. Scenarios has also lots of smoke created by smoke machine I own.

Letter_To_Pedro.jpg

I used multilayer / lightning technique when photographing these figures. It gave me much more control in post and I could correct the mood of the light if the background required it. When I had all the necessary photos taken I combined them in photoshop and added background that I had photographed myself or from stock and modified them to fit in the story / feeling.

I’m very happy for the results. They all have a story around them and you can create it on your own terms of imagination. I see and feel something sad but romantic and also hopeful in them, all the ingredients of drama. Creative mind satisfied… for now.

Cloumill_BTS.jpg
Ran_Out_Of_Imagination_BTS.jpg
This_Side_Up_BTS.jpg
Juhamatti_Vahdersalo.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @vahdersalo, I'd really like to upvote this post because I think this is amazing. However, I'm seeing this post here: http://www.notey.com/blogs/juhamatti-vahdersalo

If this is your blog, please verify yourself so people know you are not plagiarising someone else's work. The best way would be for you to put a link on your blog back to your steemit page, and/or make an introduction post showing a selfie and holding a piece of paper with steemit and today's date on it.

Thank you.

And welcome to steemit! I really hope this is you and not some scammer.

Thank you so much for this info! This is originally my article and it´s published in many places . I will do those things you suggested :) tnx!

Dude this is the coolest thing ever!! I really really love your work. You're so talented!

In terms of Constructive Criticism with the story:

  • I think that you could have a catchier headline - Maybe something along the lines of : I design miniature worlds out of cardboard.

  • I feel like the strongest photograph in the series is actually the BTS featuring you holding the cloud!

  • I would have loved to see a BTS that included the lighting setup included. Maybe in the future?

This is really awesome dude. BTW, I'm assuming you saw my live - I'm setting up a group that's focused on quality and supporting one another:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/173538363250822/?ref=br_rs
Discord: https://discord.gg/ycbHqr9

Thank you so much!!! You made my day! Lesson learned and will remember and improve those things in future!

Yes I saw your live in


Count me in!

Beautiful work @vahdersalo, and I can totally relate to your feeling of frustration when you've got no project to do.

This mainly why I personally always try to have personal projects parallel to work, my latest project is AdThat, where I take random objects every week and make an advert about them to always keep evolving as a filmmaker.

Looking forward to seeing more of your work on here!

Thanks a lot mate! I´ll take a look of your project too!

Pretty awesome!

Thank you!

Good job bud👍

Thanks mate :)

This is super beautiful and super creative work!! I love this!

Thank you so much!

Oh... This is great job!!!

Love your results! Welcome to steemit!

Super creative and well executed... look forward to seeing what else you come up with!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43