You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 120 Gal Coral Reef Aquarium. Photoset from several years of effort as an aquarium hobbiest 📷

in #photography8 years ago

Thanks valth, I designed it all to be as low maintenance as I could. When I started it probably took 2hrs per week, but once I just left it alone, figured out the right calcium and hardness additives, it was only about 30mins per week pretty much just to do water change. I never messed with chemicals much, just did an above average water change with new salt and voila, everything right just from the proper salt minerals.

Sort:  

Cool, thanks for replying. I've always hard that saltwater is a lot of work, but I suppose that is mostly true if you are unable to get stable chemical concentrations in the water.

Ya, a lot of people buy fish and corals on how they look, and not on how easy they are to care for. make's a big difference in the amount of work to keep a tank of staghorns for example or just lps and softies (like leather corals and such). I'd say 10 to 1 in maintenance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44