Descending Mount Holy Cross Hike - Exploring the Gulley - Part 1 📷

in #photography7 years ago

I was surprised to find some lush green areas in the high alpine mountains after such a hot summer here. I guess the condensation from the clouds and higher elevation rains keep some moisture even though it is never making down to the base of the mountains to feed the streams or creeks very often.
ImageText

Some really neat areas we found on our way down the mountain, and although the mist prevented some of my more classic panorama landscape shots, these close ups turned out pretty well I think.
ImageText

Its not the summit up there, still hidden by mist, but the rocks in here are only an area of about 3 feet.
ImageText

Finally had some break in the mist, you can see the endless gully up to the summit that we have been descending from. Some of those bands of rock up above are a lot larger than they migth seem from this distance.
ImageText

Here is an idea of the scale of these rock bands all the way down along this gulley. As I said in my last post here playing in the snow last visit, its impressive to see how much snow covers all of this, considering it is one of the best glissades to have around here in the late spring.
ImageText

That me, exploring both sides of these trickling water falls and cliff bands. Some fun, but definitely tough terrain to be careful out on.
ImageText

And last but not least, I love how when the sun comes out, the drizzling rain / mist at the upper elevations is just misted away as soon as the clouds clear in places. This is looking back up part of the descent route we've dropped down.
ImageText

That's it for now thanks for joining me on more of these great adventures in the great Canadian Rockies!

Sort:  

That is quite an amazing journey you are on. Must be in great shape! I would love to explore like that

Oh, ya definitely the amount of hiking in the mountains that I do, is a big reason I stay in good shape. Amoung rock climbing, mountain unicycling, parkour and bodyweight training, yes I do stay in shape. Need to for the stuff I like to do though.

very beautifull land scape!
have alot of fun

Hey thanks pennystockhelp, it sure was a fun place.

@unipsycho,
As always you made me crazy again :O This is awesome and this is amazing! Thank you very much for sharing such wonderful photography and experience with us!

Cheers~

Cheers as well, happy to keep on sharing these experiences! Thanks for keeping to visit and comment, always appreciated!

great photos dude i appreciate that keep working!

thanks rebecca, glad you liked it!

Very nice @unipsycho ...Bless

thanks andrewramdas, I appreciate that!

Damn great work @unipsycho..😊
Just found your blog and followed because you doing a unique work.. upvoted and would like to keep it up..
Cheers..😊👍

Thanks so much @djmalith, great to hear you like it, I do try to keep my journeys something to enjoy for others as well, I know not everyone can out there as often, but hope it inspire people to try some hiking on their own!

wow awesome place for hiking..
i love hiking ..
Lovely photos..
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72