A Cool Moss Stream found near Porcupine Back Country Campground 📷

in #photography7 years ago

So often, I find myself wandering around through the woods where it seems no one ever else has been, I often find these awesome gems in the wilderness you just don't find along the trails.

This set of photos I took, when exploring upstreem about a 1km from a background campground called Porcupine, in Banff National Park, on my way in to Assiniboine National Park.

The stream joined into this larger stream and following along the no so easy to follow, I came across this huge area of mosses growing all around the stream. The water was seaping out of the group everywhere through the mosses, so it must have been a large area of underground springs as the water seemed to come from nowhere. It was VERY COOL.
ImageText

I climbed out on a huge rock above the stream's edge to get this shot looking down. You can see some of the water flowing in from the opposite bank.
ImageText

Some long exposure shots helps to tell the story of the moving water. These are exposed for about 0.5 a second only.
ImageText

This is a regular shot of the water and mossy banks.
ImageText

The same bank with a long exposure. I love how the water softens, yet still tells its story of motion.
ImageText

ImageText

ImageText

The mossy stream went on quite a long while and I never reached the end. I went further than intended (and being by myself early in the morning) so I figured I should head back to camp.
ImageText

There were many signs of animals, obviously they frequent the stream to sleep or get water. Encountered some grouse along the stream.
ImageText

I think this little critter is a mole, even smaller than a mouse. Unfortunately it had died here, but not long ago, as no bird or anything else yet had found it for a snack.
ImageText

The main animal sign was moose poop, but this really confirmed it. A nice big moose antler laying beside the river! NICE FIND to see in the wild.
ImageText

And last but not least, a big panorama shot of the stream flowing by. What an awesome place that was to find, as usualy just by randomly exploring the woods! So fun!
ImageText

Sort:  

I really enjoy your experience. Thanks for sharing the pics. @unipsycho

Thanks bontonstory, glad to hear that from you!

Thanks so much. Had a look, you've got a lot of great posts as well, so thanks, and followed!

awesome homeartpictures, thanks for that. Loved your drone footage in your recent post, I had missed it early. Nice stuff though!

Beautiful shots of the moving water. What a fantastic place

Thanks snooway, ya I really like em too, I'm going to have to capture some more this summer in a similar way.

Oh man, I really recommend everyone to open the pictures in full resolution. Really amazing!

Thanks @acidyo, if you want to check out many more of my albums, I always link my blog posts with full images when you click. I also have a flickr stream here.

Thanks for the very interesting post of your adventure, and the gorgeous photos of the area. Grouse picture is so clear.
Been to Glacier NP several times, but never up to Bafff. One day in the future. I've always seen/heard it is incredible. Thanks for the share.

Thanks ddscteinn, glacier is awesome as well, a bit further for me so I'm not there very often, but Banff is only a couple hours away so definitely enjoy some trips there in the summers.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.30 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66