On Sunday with warmth ...

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

The evocative power of old photographs


About such photos, one cannot say much except that they are usually personal and have a certain emotional quality which you may or may not be able to communicate to another. Not everyone shares the same sentimental wavelengths. I found a perfect one recently (by perfect, I mean that it shows little or no degradation). My mum is carrying her little son of the time. And I have an aunt showing too except that now I couldn't tell you who this aunt is. I imagine that there is a young girl not showing now in the photo with my mum motioning to her; maybe my aunt is the young girl's mum. An old photo with sepia tones can be so evocative. Here, we find reconstructed in binary, a moment in 1974 or so, with my mum's smile, so charming, so beautiful.
Nobody in the photo could have known about Steem or blockchains and cryptos. No; not in 1974. I like my suit of blue and white clothes though ... even then, mum dressed me up as an 'investment banker'. No, I am not. I am maybe a badly taught day-trader, plying 'day trades' with Steem on Binance ... [Smile here maybe, I am trying too hard ... ]

On a day when you might post anything, I chose to write about an old photograph and stick it on Steemit and not Instagram. Let's see if it earns a vote or two. Write what you know? Well, now you know.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52