First steps in the World of 360° Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hi Stemians!

While i cleaned up the Equipment closet of the Media company I am working at, i found a Samsung gear 360° Camera. I didnt knew that we had one, so my frist thoughts were: "WOW!" I saw many of those amazing and interesting looking 360° pictures in the Internet, and always wanted to shoot them by myself - but had no idea how.

After a quick talk with my Boss, he allowed me to take the camera home over the next weekend. I have experience in regular filmmaking and photography, but never tried it in 360° - so i was very excited about it!

cam1.jpg

I watched some Youtube videos, to get a fast overview how the Samsung gear 360° camera actually works. Because it was very easy to handle it, I was ready to make my first steps!
To get a better result I walked outside. I shot the first picture between 2 buildings that had a nice symmetry.

This is what the raw footage looks like:

360_3.jpg

360_2.jpg

I did the editing on my smartphone with a app called THETA+. I edited the picture in 2 different styles - the "Tiny Planet" and "Inverted Tiny Planet" style. It´s very amazing that 1 picture can look so different because of the editing!

I will upload a detailed Tutorial for the 2 different editing styles soon :)

Inverted Tiny Planet
thetaplus_20180119142059293-01.jpeg

Tiny Planet
Screenshot_20180119-213033-01.jpeg

Because it was so much fun, i wanted to share my first steps with you!

This is first the beginning of a endless love story :) I will soon share the next Pictures with you! If you have any experience with 360° photography or maybe any tipps for me - pls let me know!

If you are interested in more creative stuff - just klick the follow button :)

Bye, Michael :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35