Obligatory Introduction Post

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Wandering the long, winding lanes of the internet, I came across a lone post on Reddit's /r/WWOOF subreddit detailing ways to make money while WOOFing. Now, I know very little about WOOFing, even though I've actually done very nearly this a few times. I've worked at a Buddhist Monastery in New Zealand (and got paid), as well as a family farm in Delaware (and got paid, again), but it was for peanuts and a roof over my head, so I guess I'd be looking at a downgrade in favor of increased opportunities.

I'm a photographer, writer and lover of food culture, nature and quiet spaces who seeks to somehow transform what I do for fun into what I love. I don't think I can sell quiet spaces...Well, somehow meditation teachers seem to, but I don't think I have anything to offer as I'm still cultivating my own inner quiet. I tried to build a life Stateside in Texas this year and lost everything in a fire. So I'm going back on the road and I hope to do so in a way that grows myself and my aspirations and isn't entirely running away from what can be painful in Life. Because there is that, but it's so thoroughly mixed into my love of travel it can be hard to sort things out from the inside looking out.

I keep my best works here: http://earlgoodson.smugmug.com I've accumulated some great stuff over the years, just making art without thinking of a business or brand. I've lived in China, Taiwan, New Zealand and the States, and been to Vietnam, Turkey, Canada and Alaska (almost it's own country!). Somehow, I've sold a few pieces of wall art, coffee mugs and such over the years through word of mouth. Maybe you'll find something to your liking as well. Or at least like looking at pretty pictures.

Koi in a pond in Hue, Vietnam
Koi in Hue, Vietnam

Guanyin, Boddhisattva of Compassion on a beach in Hualien, Taiwan
Guanyin, Buddha of Compassion

Australian Wattle Tree Seed in B&W
Infinity Seed

Dragonflies are cool! (San Antonio, TX)
Image of Dragonfly

A prayer and meditation room in Istanbul, Turkey
Hagia Sofia

My hope is to connect with like-minded people who can help me become what as of yet I don't even know. The chrysalis stirs, but I don't know how to fly, yet. Saludos desde TX! ~ Aspiring Travel Writer/Photographer/Blogger-ninja

Sort:  

Great pictures! Enjoy Steemit.

Thank you kindly. I hope to, even if I don't quite understand it yet!..

Welcome! I like the pictures! Following :)

Thank you so much; hope you enjoy further posts!

Hi turbotroll, I live in New Zealand but i'm on my way to Sweden in 2017. You might want to check out my Europe-focussed website and blog on the same subject. There might be answers there you're looking for :)

Sweden, eh? Truly a dream of mine...I spent a couple of years in NZ myself. Whereabouts are you?

Hamilton. A couple of hours south of Auckland :) I've lived everywhere from Kaikohe near the Bay of Islands right up north to Dunedin near the south of the south. I hope you enjoyed your time here. Where did you stay? - or were you mainly travelling?

A little of both. I've worked at Vimutti Monastery near Pukekhoe for a total of two years. I've been all over the North Island; Hamilton, Paihia, Rotorua, Taupo, Wellington, and others, but have yet to get South. Always struggling for cash and New Zealand is not cheap...One day...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40