Imperfection Photography

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_1024 (2).JPG

*All Original Photography


For the photo above I was taking a new approach, searching for movement I placed the delicate soft petals in an arrangement to guide the viewer's eyes in an "S" which is known by many artist to be a very pleasing-to-the-eye composition.
The dull day is no match for the vibrant reds that permeate.
Perhaps the flowers symbolizes growth. Or perhaps it symbolizes the start of decay.
We all start out vibrant, fresh, and young, and eventually wither away on top of the gravel this world. Ripped to pieces, we leave little traces of ourselves on this world.
Some more than others perhaps.
But one perhaps it will all be for nothing. Perhaps we will mean nothing.
Oblivion.


DSC_1090 (2).JPG

Again, I play with movement and diagonal lines to create interest for the viewer.
I chose a few apple slices, seemingly the most similar, and played with the arrangement of them on a white canvas.
With some editing and playing with white balance, I was awarded with this photo. I enjoy the feeling of an unnatural photo and position for a very natural organic fruit. There is a sense of peace and a systematic approach within an imperfect organic shape.


DSC_0974 (2).JPG

Antiquity
Now for the photo most related to who I am as a person.
This old yellow truck resides outside of my old house.
Perhaps it is a symbol for what I love most about coming home from traveling. It's not the feeling of coming home, but the feeling of familiarity that i most enjoy.
There is nothing like going on a long vacation far away, and driving back into Indiana and seeing the distinct corn fields and flat plains.
There is nothing like passing the Walmart by your house when you have almost made it home.
It's familiar. You know these cornfields. You know this sky. You know this air.
Home is different than anywhere else.
Seeing the back of this old yellow truck everyday, I knew I was home.
It never moved, it was always there, unchanging. Like the taste of an old summer's day in the place you love most.
Corn grows and is cut down, but seemingly, the next year, feels unchanged. It feels the same.
Coming home to the corn fields is my favorite.

Another thing that draws me to this old truck is the antiquity.
The rusty, old, yet fresh-yellow truck reminds me of childhood. I grew up at auctions and around antiques. My grandmother and grandfather were in the antique business. I have always had an aesthetic for old things. I am drawn to them magnetically.
Antiques and I speak the same love language. We see the same daylight. We share the same worldview.
While one's eye may be drawn to something shiny and new, I am drawn to the old, interesting, and imperfect.


@truthtalks
https://steemit.com/@truthtalks
February 13, 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36