Feelin' Blue

in #photography7 years ago

18193780_1327845233964440_4008892472487640814_n.jpg

Feelin' Blue
2017


This piece strays away from my signature red and blue fashion and instead uses yellow to offset the strong use of blues.
This is a second piece to a particular art form I was trying out.
If you want to learn more about my first piece, attempt, and background you can access it below:

https://steemit.com/photography/@truthtalks/americana


Feelin' Blue

My previous piece, Americana, became very chaotic and demands a lot of attention. With Americana I left the eyes open to pull a realistic sense and emphasis to the eyes.
With this piece I am pushing the illusion I am creating by using a hair wrap and glasses.
This is a new form of art where 3D meets 2D.
How can a painting be formed within a a couple hours and be pulled together in such a realistic fashion?
You may be surprised that such an amateur like me could create something so magnificent. Until you realize that this is a photographed model who has been painted in such a way to look as if it is a 2D painting.
Again here I use an Iphone, a thick piece of paper, and some paint.
My lines are much more clean, smooth, and organized than the previous painting.
Darker blues are arranged where shadows natural form on the face (upper lip, under the nose, neck, ears, etc)
and lighter blues are placed where natural light would normally fall.
It was like doing makeup but with paint.

The room was lit with natural sun light and acrylic paint was used.
I wanted to strongly avoid putting paint in the hair and the yellow head wrap was a spur of the moment decision that turned out way better than expected. The use of a yellow wrap vs say a blue one, is that it ties together the painting and creates a balance with the blues and an emphasis on the yellow areas.
I created this piece for my photography class. This photo was to meet the requirement of illusion or surrealism.
I had a different photo planned but then didn't have time to complete it, so I took two hours out of my weekend and did this with my current roommate @trendytraveler.
She was such an amazing model and I really enjoyed painting her. She has very beautiful natural form to her face and an amazing smile. She has always bee a good model for any type of photography I have done with her.
I really enjoy this style of glasses and the touch of yellow provides a warm glow which reflects that of a natural sunlight.

Below I will share more photos of the process and other poses I created with this look.

IMG_E4254.JPG
IMG_4231.JPG!
IMG_4223.JPGIMG_E4230.JPG
IMG_4231.JPG


@truthtalks
https://steemit.com/@truthtalks
January 27th, 2018

Sort:  

I really like this technique, have to find a volunteer and try it myself :)

Try it! it is so much fun and doesn't take long.
I use disposable bowls normally for easy cleanup.
But if you wanna check out more about the technique and different styles. Check out Alexa Meade by googling her.

Useful info, thanks!

The chat gang! @truthtalks It looks beautiful I really like the hard work you put in aswell!

Really cool, Blue and yellow is my favourite colour combo!

That looks pretty awesome. :)

Your talent amazes me, you have a natural talent, sweetheart and I am so happy you are sharing it with the world through steemit.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 35.0% @adept upgoat, thanks to @tecnosgirl
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

That kitty kind of looks like Slim

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34