The Rainbow Mountains of Peru

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

a1f8e54c-5c43-4d71-88e3-cfacc975ab69.jpeg


For my first post on Steepshot, I wanted to share the shot that I took that truly got me hooked on photography!

This was taken high above the mountains of Peru at 5050m and the incredible colors are created due to erosion and different layers of sediments in the ground. This photo was actually taken with my first DSLR and only about 1 week after I had bought it! Incredibly, this photo won a few National Geographic submission challenges and was featured on Yahoo news as one of the most spectacular images of 2016. It is my honor to share this photo with you :)

Make sure to check out my page for more pictures and photography tutorials! If you guys like this photo and want to see a full blog about my adventure to get to the top of this incredible place, comment below and I will!!!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Absolutely agree!

Thank you for taking the time to comment :)

Really beautiful! We hope that one day we get to see that view. Sam has been to Peru once before, he trekked the Inca Trail from near by Cusco for 3 days and 2 nights to reach Macchu Picchu. He really loved the parts of Peru that he saw. We are both now even more eager to go there. Well done on winning a few National Geographic submission challenges with this photo :)

Thank you! Peru was such an incredible trip... Im sure you will see loads more photos from my trip on this site haha :) I would definitely recommend going there at somepoint :)

Great photo, just added Peru to my bucket list:P

Ah yeah, you must! I can say hands down that Peru was the most beautiful and naturally diverse country I’ve ever been to! From hiking through mountains to surfing in crystal clear ocean, Peru is the place to be :) hit me up if you ever want any tips about where to travel there!

Sure thing :D Keep on creating!

Beautiful!

Thank you so much! There’s a lot more from where that came from :)

I love the colors, so vibrant and breathtaking. Thank you for posting, Peru is beautiful. You were fortunate to have been there :)

colors are crazy.

Yeah man! Its probably the most incredible view I have ever seen. Its amazing what kind of art the world can create when it is left to its own devices :) Thanks for you comment and look out for more content :)

Very weird looking but creative at the same time :) Good job!^^

Haha thank you! Yeah, it was a pretty surreal experience :)

Awesome shot! You certainly have talent in photography and one of my friends just came back from Peru as well. I really want to visit one day :)

You should go there one day!! Its honestly the most beautiful place I have ever been to :) Thanks for your comment

How is this possible? minerals?

Haha yes indeed! The colors are created due to the natural seperation of many of the minerals of the mountain. Over time, the minerals, which are all mostly of different weight and consistency were seperated from each other and then eroded allowing for the beautiful colors to become exposed! Its really quite fascinating :)

Without a joke: This si the most amazing thing created by nature and time i ever saw.
I have to there once.

Congratulations @tristanoliff! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64