A Visitor In Our Backyard

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Lilu And The Chipmunk

Lilu watching chipmunk.JPG

"Blending With The Bush?"
Chipmunk.JPG

A while back, I was looking out our kitchen window and noticed our kitty, Lilu, watching something very intently.

After grabbing my glasses, I saw a small creature zip across the yard with Lilu close on it tiny heels. Then they stopped.

For what seemed an eternity, there was a quiet stand-off, each creature studying the other.

Finally, as they both became aware of my quiet surveillance, my kitty blinked and the chipmunk took off for what it thought to be refuge, in a bush.

Lilu and I (with camera in hand) slowly walked over to the bush.

I took this picture of the stone-still creature (I'm sure he thought he was blending with the bush!).

Then I asked Lilu: "Why not let him go, sweetie?".

I turned towards the house, Lilu following, somewhat reluctantly, but following, nonetheless.

Then our visitor was gone in a flash!

Sort:  

Is Lilu named after Lilu and Stitch perhaps?
Love the little chipmunk, he's super cute. I'm surprised your cat was such a good listener- none of mine are every willing to give up the hunt based on what I say lol.

No, I think I just thought it sounded like a pretty name. Later I realized I had probably heard it once before in a Bruce Willis movie, where one of the main characters (who would save the world) was named "Lilu".
Thank you, I love chipmunks also. I was a little surprised also, but Lilu surprises me a lot. I must admit I was ready to turn and dive between them, if need arose, as I was not ready to witness tiny bloodshed. :)

How sweet!!! Great image captures too!

Thank you, @elianasgarden! It was such a thrill to catch the cutie with my camera!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85