Why do I remain in my homeland...?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

People often ask why don't I leave this country, when most of my friends have already gone to work in France, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Germany, UK, Norway... to earn more money and improve their lives.

Well, the main reason is the Weather.

WP_20140925_001.jpg

I never feel well during the Winter. I can't stand it.

No, I don't mind going on vacation and catch a bit of bad weather, but to be forced to live under those conditions 24/7... that's a whole different story. I feel like I'm functioning at 65% of my capacities, when the weather is cold, murky and rainy.

As soon as the sun starts shining, it seems that some untapped energy is released inside of me. I become sharper, faster and more efficient in every aspect of my life, including working productivity.

This little country by the sea (Portugal) has an average of 220 sunny days per year. It's hard to beat that, at least in the more developed countries of Europe.

And I simply love the beaches around here.

WP_20140927_001.jpg

Just look at this scenery:

WP_20140927_002.jpg

What would happen if I took a job... in the UK, for instance? A land where the sun hardly ever shines? I would quickly become depressed and unable to do my job properly. In the end, instead of ending with a better salary, I'd probably be fired for being unproductive. Then I'd stay home, unemployed... and even more depressed. I would turn into a sad potato couch.

That's why I say: Move elsewhere? No, thanks. This is my land. This is where I feel the best. Find me a better place or leave me be. :-D

WP_20171007_19_33_23_Rich.jpg

PS: All of these photos were taken on the last days of September and the last one is from early October. Admit it, you thought they were taken in the Summer, didn't you? Now you know what I mean! :-)


CameraMicrosoft Lumia 950 XL
LocationLabruge & Vila Chã, Vila do Conde - Portugal
Sort:  

The last photo is gorgeous! And yes, I agree with your reasons.. they're also my reasons why I stay in my country instead of going elsewhere. I lived in London for a year and I was almost depressed there. There's no place like home :))))

You are working on 65% capacity during cold and rainy days?! That's good. I'm on 40%, and when it's winter & snow on 20% :)
I live in Zagreb (Croatia), winter is here short (especially last years) and could never go norther, just like you :) And just like from your country, many people are moving norther, searching for more decent life.

!!! Your photos are wonderful!! :)

Eh eh! When I drop below 50% I don't call it "functioning" but "messing up."

Thanks a lot for your comment.

Ha ha Than I'm messing up all winter ;)

eheheh... very nice photos.

These ones could have been taken in the Azores. Have many similarities with my island. 😊😊😊😊😊

We only miss the diving points and the warm water, here. That never stops being fun! :-D

I don't blame you! I'm always complaining about the harsh winters in Northern Europe. We want to relocate somewhere warm :)

Ah! I have an opportunity to visit Russia this year. How is it in Moscow, in July... and in November? Those are the possibilities I'm considering.

July would be great, very beautiful... but expensive and busy because of the World Cup this year. November will be very cold, but still worth it! Why not to experience authentic Russian weather haha!?

I know what You mean. It's hard to get away from that nature. The latest photo is amazing!

Thanks for stopping by!

Где родился, там и пригодился.
Where was born there and useful.

You live by the ocean. Warm, light. That's good.

Yes, it's hard to leave. I won't trade this place for more money plus a depression. That's for sure. Contrary to that Garbage song, I'm never happy when it rains.

:) We will live and rejoice

thank you, for the value you give me, i love portugal,

Thank you, its been very sunny lately.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48