Boxing Day birdssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I went for a walk today down to the sea, the shining sea. It’s been a while since I’ve been fro a good long walk down there, so I took my camera to spend the afternoon just photographing whatever took my fancy.

gull

I found a bunch of sea gulls having a swim so I stopped to take some photos.

I only have a short 135mm lens, so I had to get really close to get a good shot. I found a specific gull and locked on target. Slowly, carefully like a great cat, I stalked my prey. Every few steps I stopped and let him get used to me being a little closer.
A few steps more, and I was nearing the sweet spot. I fired off a few shots to see if the sound of the camera shutter would make him fly away.

gull

No, he wasn’t bothered.

Another step, crunch!

Bugger! I stepped in dry seaweed. The gull crouched ready to fly away so I stopped. So hid he. We stared at each other for a bit. Then he went back to having a drink.

Stealthily I crept forward. You could almost see my mane flowing in the light breeze, I was so like a lion on the Serengeti.
I crouched ready to get a really good closeup. He turned towards me and posed.

gull

Then from behind I heard the sound of laughing and crunching stones and a mother and her daughter came running up shouting ‘Yay! Watch the birdies fly!’

Needless to say, my quarry was gone in a couple of wing beats. I felt like shouting at them’ Can you not see what I’m doing here? Half an hour it’s taken me to get this close!’

But that would have upset their day. So I got up and began walking back home, stopping off to take some more pics along the way.

small bird

small bird

I wasn’t that upset really.

I’m more annoyed that I didn’t think to take photos of them running into the cloud of gulls as the flapped into the air.

Next time.


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

Which beach did you go to? somewhere on the South Coast?

This was near Owhiro Bay where you turn the corner and go over a small bridge.

oh yes, I know

Great shots and tons of patience!!! When I take pictures of birds they tend to like the sound of my camera - tweeting as I click.

Lovely pictures and I especially liked reading how your shoot went :)

Thanks for that :-)

At least you got these pics ;)
Thanks for sharing this awesome post, Trevor!
Upvoted & Followed.

Thanks for that :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66