I found a new Train, a Steemit Train

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

today I would like to introduce myself. My username is traxxmaster (but I guess you guys already know that ;) ). I’m in my late-teens, live in Switzerland and am a student. I’m currently in high school but have no idea what my future will be and what I would like to do as a job.

I have a passion that many repute as strange and particular because not many have it. I am in fact passionate about trains and railways (and no, I’m not the “I like trains kid” from ASDFmovie ;) ).

So how have I obtained this passion? How has my passion grown to the degree in which it is today? My great grandfather worked at railway stations and with time began to like his job and to do it with good cheer. When my father was a young boy, my great grandfather (my father’s grandfather) began to instruct him by bringing him to see trains along the railway line and showed him his work place. In time my father became really passionate and was struck with awe and admiration.
When the passion is so great it is often expressed with great joy and feeling to the closest friends and relatives, as an aspect that belongs to the human nature. Therefore when I was born and became a young child, my father often sat down with me and opened many of his books which contained information on the history of the Swiss railways (SBB CFF FFS) and the Gotthard tunnel. My speech wasn’t developed at the time, but I had great admiration for the pictures contained in those books. From the age in which I could walk my father would take me on Sundays to the train-station to see the trains pass by. I remember being at the station eating an ice cream as my dad would teach me to distinguish locomotives by their various characteristics. At the time I could really see the great joy and gladness he had in speaking. Growing up I began to have a great passion that, with the gaining of knowledge on the matter, intensified.

A few years ago I began to realise that I had seen in my lifetime a great quantity of different trains with various special compositions passing by, but did not conserve those moments. I therefore decided to pick up photography and to start a new journey. I remember picking up my first Nikon and falling in love with it. I admired its simplicity and efficiency but had a lot to learn on photography (and still do today ;) ) I therefore decided to combine my two passions and am what people define a trainspotter.

My biggest dream was always to share my passion with most people as possible. I would currently love to travel discovering and photographing the trains and locomotives of the world to see the cultural differences that are highlighted also in public transport. I truly believe that although many see trains just as public transportation which can be used, all can admire certain aspects of them and see the railway experience with different eyes. I want to help people to achieve this view. I therefore have used instagram for this purpose (check out @momo_trainspotters). With time I reached a number of followers whom I can’t thank enough for their great and continuous support.
Now however, I’m searching for new ways to achieve this goal and have decided to use steemit and crypto-currencies (thanks to my uncle who let me know about them ;) ). I truly believe that it can be the way to make my dream come true and to express my passion by posting pictures and writing articles which concern railways. I therefore really appreciate this opportunity.

In Switzerland and Europe I particularly follow the Swiss Bo’Bo series by SLM and the TRAXX series by Bombardier. I also pay close attention to the worlds of Stadler, Siemens and Alstom.
I particularly enjoy photographing steam engines as well. When taking a photo I don’t always concentrate on the train itself but try to capture it on its journey. I therefore often try to photograph the trains while they are going up mountains or are along lakes or crossing bridges. Quite often the photos that contain a panorama are the ones most soothing to the eyes.

My intent therefore is also to greatly promote steemit on instagram and on my instagram account. I hope that by using steemit and crypto-currencies I will be able to express my passion and to help people appreciate the railway world.

Sort:  

Great post! (Would have been a good introduceyourself post too)
I love how passionate you are about what you love. I'm glad you're finally bringing it here to share with us.
Hopefully promoting steemit on your Instagram account of over 2'000 followers will bring more people to this platform.

2,000 followers! Maybe your hobby isn't so weird after all. Make sure that your fans over at Instagram know that they can get paid just for signing up at Steemit and that then both of you can make money if they up vote your blog posts. That's what we call a win win situation!

Great posting! Thanks for the hard work and hope you are also going to like my blog https://steemit.com/@eric-boucher Namaste :)

Staying on the train is very dangerous

Cool story and pics! Looks like you're on a new train now the Steem train! This train will take you to even more places!

Keep up the great work @traxxmaster
Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43