First Impressions On The iPhone 7 Plus From A Travel Blogger Perspective

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

After picking up my iPhone 7 Plus on Saturday morning, I spent the weekend taking photos in a variety of real world situations to test it and share my review on this new phone with you. The iPhone  is considered one of the most popular cameras in world even though is a phone. Many people use the phone’s camera for pictures that are to be used on social media platforms such as Instagram and Facebook. One of the beauties of taking pictures with the iPhone is the speed and the convenience.

 I personally prefer to use my iPhone as a camera to avoid carrying a heavy object as it is very practical and easy to use anywhere I travel. After hearing about the new camera of the iPhone 7, I had to get it and upgrade my phone as it is perfect for me! I believe that travel bloggers will love this phone and its camera especially if they were already using the previous versions as it has improved features. Here are some images taken with the iPhone 7 Plus:

The iPhone 7 Plus features a 12 megapixel camera on the rear and 7 mega pixel on the front commonly used for selfies. It also features a f/1.8 aperture that allows more light to make low light pictures cleaner. The Quad LED True Tone flash in this phone is 50% brighter and provides more of a natural light than the harsh light from the previous iPhones. The phone also comes with a 12 megapixel telephoto zoom. The colors are accurate and vibrant from what I noticed on the images I took and has a good dynamic range.  The autofocus improved on this phone as there is less delay in the time it takes to capture a good photo. The digital zoom however takes away from the detail  for macro photos. This is something that still needs some work on. I was reading about the features of the phone and it is said that you can take advantage of the fast lens and take 3 photos on HDR setting  for great shots. Even though the camera is designed to deal well with dark and light objects in the same photo I need admit that Samsung Galaxy S7 still does a better job taking night or low light pictures than the iPhone 7 Plus.  Through telephoto lens, zoomed images are much sharper so I was happy to see this and also that images are less distorted.

Accesories for  iPhone 7 Plus

  • 5 Watt Power Adapter
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Apple Stickers
  • Lightning Cable 
  • Lightining Connect Ear Pods
  • Adapter for traditional Headphones

Overall, I do recommend the iPhone 7 to those who already enjoy talking pictures with a smart phone and like the convenience of it while still obtaining great images. I am not a professional photographer, I am more of an aficionado who loves to take pictures of travels and share them so this works for me! I do love the new features of the phone as well such as the extended battery life, stereo speaker, dust and water resistant, brighter display and 4K video recording to mention a few, but my main focus for this review is the camera, which I do recommend. some people did complain about the removal of the headphone jack, but to me this was not a big deal as the phone comes with the wired headphones plus the adapter in case I want to use the traditional headphones. Overall is a great upgrade from the previous iPhone 6 Plus!  Hope this review is helpful. Thank you

Sort:  

Hey @travelista good review. I am still on Iphone 5 thinking about updating but wasn't sure about the new headphones. Didn't hear about the adapter. Now I know. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @runrudy! I do not mind the new headphones and everything else is great plus you do
have the adapter. My pleasure!

Excellent shots, love the camera on the 7 plus, following you now!

Thank you! I am loving it too! 😀

from 6plus to 7plus...i am not so sure the difference is worth the huge expense. But maybe coming from a country where people make 500e/month is different than for you.

I understand @razvanelulmarin. I am lucky as I did not have to pay the money upfront for the phone. With the company Sprint I am allowed to get a new phone every year one comes out and I only had to pay $40 dollars extra than my regular bill for the next 12 months or until the next new iPhone comes out. If I did not have this option I probably would have not made the upgrade right away either. Plus there are other things more important and of value specially in countries where people make less.

no offense :) it's great you can afford it. For me, right now, iphone5 satisfies all my needs, even photographic ones, as i am, like you, just an amateur not a pro :)

Non taken :) You are kind and I appreciate the feedback. Have a good one :)

I do not have the new phone but the new iOS is already impressing me. It seems like Apple was reading my mind! Love the new map features - already see a nice change and want to use it more. I also like the new iTunes. What did you guys like thus far? What am I missing???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27