Where Giants Roam - A Photo Blog

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This Pursuit of Happiness

A Full Time Traveler's Photo Blog

Hello Steemians!

My story: About 4 months ago, my wife and I decided to sell all of our stuff including our dream home to start a new life as a full time travelers in our RV. So far we have seen some incredible natural wonders including snow topped mountains, endless deserts, and giant forests.

This latest post is about our day trip to the Giant Forest in Sequoia National Park.
Please FOLLOW me @tpoh to keep up with our adventure!

You can also check out the full album on Facebook or you can visit my Website to see all of the pictured from our journey.

Thanks!

Where Giants Roam

Standing in the Distance

Sherman Path
At the top of the Sherman Trail, you can see an enormous tree in the distance. To truly appreciate this shot, consider the the ground between the entrance and that tree, slopes down approximately 150ft, yet still, this tree stands above all around it.

Glow


This moment makes my heart sing. The warm light coming through the trees takes on a new beauty.

The Overlook

Ciara on High
My wife loves to climb. The view was worth the effort.

For Miles and Miles

For Miles and Miles
On the drive to General Sherman, you skirt along a mountain top for 50 miles. The views made the ride a lot more enjoyable.

Looking Up

Looking Up
The trees are magnificent as they reach for the sky.

The General

The General
This is the largest tree in the world (by mass not height). The sheer size of the trunk is remarkable with a 25' diameter at the base.

Sitting in the Roots

Root Ball
A fallen Sequoia tree lays in decay on the ground. Nearly 300 feet long it starts with a gnarly root ball large enough to sit in and enjoy the view above.

Standing in a Grove of Giants

Twins
The famous Naturalist and Outdoorsman, John Muir, gave the name to this Squoia grove - "The Giant Forest" He had never seen a more perfect and abundant grove of Sequoia's anywhere else on Earth.

How Small We Are

Z
Ciara, my wife, got behind the camera for this one while I was appreciating the sheer magnitude of these trees. Like towers, they stood above me, strong and wise.

Giant's Feet

GiantsFeet
Like the foot of a giant, the base of the Sequoia rests firmly on the earth.

Thanks! And remember to follow me @toph

Sort:  

I will assume these are in the sequoia national forest. Beautiful pics. It's one of the many wondrous sites to see on my bucket list.

Yes! Sequoia National Park. It was awesome! Definitely try to make it out there!

@tpoh, I live here. The giant forest is beautiful.

Oh man. That is some beautiful country you've got there!

The photo's actually put me there, thank you for letting me enjoy your journey there... Following and looking forward to more beautiful and magical pics.

Awesome and inspiring pics. I love that shot of the giant trunks and little person. Truly majestic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51