Pluto's Cave - A Photo Tour

in #photography8 years ago

Hello Steemians!

I have started a new life as a full-time traveler looking to free myself from the usual 9-5. After selling our house and all of our stuff my wife and I hit the road in our RV and have been traveling and experiencing this beautiful world for the last 3 months.

Yesterday we took a hike to Pluto's Cave, just north of Mt. Shasta in Northern California. It was an incredible place with amazing geology. On our drive back we took a moment to enjoy the sunset from a nearby mountain top. The mountain wasn't just any mountain. It was a former laval flow that cooled and left behind a 120 foot tall mound of volcanic rock. Incredible. Check out the photos below!

Please hit FOLLOW to keep seeing amazing pictured from our adventures. Then also visit my Website and my Facebook to see more pictures from our journey. There are some incredible shots.

Thanks!

THIS PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

A Full Time Traveler's Photo Blog

A Skylight at Pluto's Cave

Skylight

A Dark Place

Cave

On Top of the Skylight

Outside

Mount Shasta from the North

Shasta

A Shasta Sunset

Shasta Sunset

A Purple Sunset

Purple Sunset

Zach & Ciara Enjoying the Sunset

Me & C

Please Follow, Up Vote and Share!

Thanks!

Zach Lee Rubin

Sort:  

Wow, the shot with your wife sitting on the lip of the cave really shows the scale . Looks like an incredible place !

I've heard Mt. Shasta is a mystical area and hotspot for UFO activity.

Yes. The cave was enormous. It's true, Mt. Shasta is a mystical area indeed. In fact the cave is believed to contain a portal to another dimension. We haven't seen any strange lights in the sky, but I will say that the energy in the area is spiritual in nature. If you are interested in those subjects, it is definitely a great place to visit. If nothing else, you will be astounded by the natural beauty of the Mountain and surrounding areas.

Wow. Those are really beautiful pictures!

Thanks! Please follow! I'm going to try posting new ones every week.
Cheers!

Hi tpoh, that is a great Cave and captures of it. Caves can be particularly hard to photograph so you've done a great job. Hope to seem more from you at Steemit here, thanks for the posting.

Thanks! I use an HDR technique with most of my photos. Helps me get the dark areas and the bright areas. Then I take it into Lightroom to adjust everything. Ultimately, I try to capture the essence of the moment. Not necessarily how it looked exactly, but how it felt.

Thanks for the compliment, and please keep following!

Ah yes, a good setup for HDR can certainly make a photo that is otherwise impossible. I do quite a few HDRs for landscape photos, since you get that darn sun in wide shots blasting out the details. haha. I'll have to try some HDR shots to my next cave visit, never done any there or night shots for that matter. Thanks for the tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51