Nevada City - A Travel Blog

in #photography8 years ago

Hello Steemians,

Yesterday we had a Wild West adventure in a wonderful little mining town called Nevada City in California. It is so perfectly preserved that you can't help but feel the 1880's all around you. I've started to add some writing to each photo to express how I felt as I was there.

Take a look at some of the photos I took and let me know what you think!

If you would like to see more, check out my Facebook Page or visit my website at This Pursuit of Happiness

Thanks and please follow me: @tpoh

THIS PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

A Full Time Travelers Photo Blog

Behind the Old Theater

Theater
I noticed the potential for this shot as I was walking by. The sun behind these rusted buildings offered a warmth of color that transported me back in time.

A Real Life Gingerbread House

Gingerbread House
As soon as you lay eyes on this tiny house, you can't help but think of Christmas. All it needed was a light dusting of snow on the edges.

Main Street

Main Street
From the top of the hill, the town takes on a different vibe. From this perspective, my minds eye was flooded with a sequence of images as I imagined the town passing through each decade since the 1860's.

An Old Town

Image of the Past
You can really see the 19th century in this one. The wooden structures and hand carved signs offer an authenticity that is unmatched in any city I've seen.

A Boom Town

Boom Town
Here you get a sense of a busseling Western town. You can imagine rough and tumble men on horse back and victorian dressed women mulling about in their daily activity.

The Fire House

Firehouse
How simple times were.

The Independent

The Independent
When men were real men, and women were ladies. This old building used to be a newspaper, today it sells jewelry.

Please Up Vote if you Like and Follow me @tpoh!
Thanks for the support.

  • Zach Lee Rubin
Sort:  

Great shots. Hard to pic a favorite, they are all great. I think I'll have to go with the first one. Again, all great - good luck - STEEM ON!

Nice shots.....hope to visit one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51