Gorgeous Sunset Over London Skyline - Photo of the Day #2 by Tony Boyle

in #photography7 years ago

The-Shard-7.jpg

One of the rare opportunities that you get to see the London skyline from such a height. This was taken at the Shard which is currently the UK's tallest building at 95 stories at 310m.

Very unique building that has some stand out features. I remember going into the bathroom/toilet and instantly the first thing you notice is a massive floor to ceiling window. I thought was a bit odd, but what the hell I was so far up what's the chances of anyone actually seeing me and it was a gorgeous view. After doing my business and emerging from the bathroom I was informed that there is infact a button which drops a blind down so no one can see in... oops!

This shot was tricky to get because you are not allowed any tripods in the Shard. I had to balance the camera on my bag and place the lens so it was touching the window and then cover the lens and camera with some black fabric/cloth that I had brought with me. Without the black fabric you get horrific reflections from the window and the photo would not be useable.
Took a good number of attempts to get right but who's complaining when you get to witness such a gorgeous sunset.

Camera settings f11 - ISO 100 - 15 second exposure.

Tony-Boyle-black-150.png

Sort:  

I wanna experience london. Great shot. Please share more.😊

Thanks @ninacalara21. Have you never been to London yet? It's a nice city but there are much nicer cities to go to around the world than here I think. I really don't understand the hype about london haha.

I'll definitely be sharing more photos also!

Nope, not yet..but it has always been in my bucketlist..well, its gonna be different for me. There are lots see there too. Big ben, buckingham palace etc. I wanna visit it on dec. Hopefully.😊

wow amazing photo!

@inkeles thank you so much! You have some beautiful work on your page.

Nice to see another Londoner here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44